Look What i did to my MAC Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by enny001, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. enny001 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #1
    Hi guys just wanted to share my mac pro upgrade DIY style. I wanted to build new power PC for resolve and rendering but i was thinking why spend 4k when i can just upgrade my mac pro with a bit of modification. i have Radeon 5770 for monitors and gtx 770 4gb and 550ti for resolve and premiere and any other application that needs it In few months i will add 6core 3.4 cpu and 32 gb memory and another gtx 770 4gb to replace 550. Some people might say oh no what did you do to mac but i really don't care about look only that it can do the job and its under my table where i don't see it at all. I have power supply powering 770 and have relocated my HD where DVD use to be i have used DVD sata connection to power the HD there is one more sata connection for another HD and on top of that i can run extension sata for another 2 HD from the free bays
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    You have massacred it...
    With a bit of thinking + few $ more you could get far better performance and look of your MP.
     
  3. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #3
    @enny001

    For the GPU power, you could have tap into the built in PSU or use 2 AUX PSUs in the DVD drive bay.

    A mix of some cheap single slot GPUs (Nvidia and AMD) would have yield the same performance.

    If you are looking for extreme GPU power, some single slot water cool cards with external water cooler would have been a good option.

    But if you are happy with your setup and time spent, that`s all cool:D
     
  4. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    @enny001

    You surely were "Thinking Different" ~ Steve Jobs

    Enjoy your new MP setup!

    Cheers
     
  5. MentalVizion macrumors regular

    MentalVizion

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Location:
    Austria
  6. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I can't bare to look!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. enny001 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #8
    LOl

    YOU GUYS KILL ME lol with. I work with what i have at this time and what i have at this time makes me happy

    ----------


    I dont need cheap single slot GPU i am running davinchi resolve and i need best what i can afford

    Water cooled cards that sound like more money, i got kids to feed :) but if i could i would

    and dvd dribe bays i was going to use the power for gpu but then what about HD since make short films more HD space is needed and i hate going external

    ----------

    I don't care about the look really nobody comes to my home and say nice computer its under my desk where i cant even see it. But can you elaborate more about better performance what would you have done?
     
  8. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    Congrats, and ignore the haters!
    Aesthetics don't have to be everyone's first priority
     
  9. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #10
    I think it is obvious my comment was in jest! :D
    Not into "form over function"! The main thing is to get you render times down and projects in on time! :cool:
     
  10. enny001 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #11
    Yeah for now on personal projects rendering is good in Cinema 4d but i will defiantly get 6 core and more memory in few months or when wife lets me:)

    ----------

    Aesthetics smustetik i say but thanks
     
  11. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  12. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #13
    I tell you where you stand..

    :)
    I think it would be ok to say: "Function follows Form" in your case.
    :)
    I see that you are a practical "hands on person".
    :)
    Since it works, hey.. a cool mod after all, congrats !

    However, I have detected one field of improvement if you don't mind.
    Many 3D Printer companies have started on cheap prices for single parts to print out of different PVC's. (Makerbot ...
    In your case, you would just need to get the profile of the bezel from the back to extended it for the room of GPU #3 or print a complete new extended bezel.
    This way it would look like a special factory version Mac Pro and the cut aluminium would not be visible.

    Just a thought from a CAD/CAM nut.

    :apple:
     
  13. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #14
    I am curious why you didn't put the 550Ti in top slot, wouldn't have required cutting that way, just removal of bracket.

    I doubt that a weak card of that sort would have lost much from being at PCIE 4 lanes.

    The single slot 5770s are hard to come by, only XFX made them that I know of.

    I personally would have found ways to keep the machine "pretty" but then I have spent a few years as an Art Director. But I would rather see someone get use out of their slots rather then sell the machine years later with GT120 sitting untouched and dusty.
     
  14. TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    One question:

    Why did you cut holes in your case? This mod is possible without cutting on the case.
     
  15. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    If it works for you then that's what matter... I personally prefer the look of mine:

    [​IMG]

    But I'm sure your getting better results in davinci with those additional cards over a single Titan. World would be boring if everything was the same #
     
  16. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #17
    It looks terrible, but if you view it as a disposable tool (which it really is), then more power to you.
     
  17. TzunamiOSX, May 5, 2015
    Last edited: May 5, 2015

    TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #18
    Other Point:

    I'm really sure, that two 970/980 are faster than you 3 Cards.

    These are the 980/970
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    This is a 570
    [​IMG]

    and a 770 must be near this result
    [​IMG]
     
  18. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #19
    He said his goal was to not spend money two 970's would be about $700, two 980's about $1000.
     
  19. pointvicente macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #20
    Ok so the EVGA GTX 550 ti will work in the mac pro but doesn't it really need another power supply? How does it perform with Final Cut Pro X (FCPX)? I am just looking at getting in the door at this point for under $50 any other options?
     

Share This Page