Looking for a backup solution

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Frits, Jan 30, 2009.

1. Frits macrumors member

I recently bought a 2.8GHz intel iMac with 320GB of space, and I would like to have a backup for it. I intend on using it and boot camp at the same time, and have it only backup the OSX partition. Now, I'm new to backup's and to apple/OSX in general, so I have a few questions:

1. Does having a external HD backing up your drive in the background take up cpu and memory etc, and as such slow down your mac? If it's wireless, does it consume bandwidth?

2. I want it to continuously maintain an exact copy of my internal HD, so no multiple restore points or anything, I don't need that. I just want to be able to, in case something goes wrong, completely overwrite the internal HD with the data on the external one so as to return it to how it was before that, or otherwise restore it to that point. So, including OS and everything that made my mac run like it did before that something went wrong. Is that possible?

3. I do intend on buying something wireless. What would it's range be like? And is wireless significantly slower than wired?

4. Time Capsule sounds pretty good, but it seems rather pricy to me. I would only need the 500GB version as there aren't any other machines in my network that I would want to work with it. I'm wondering if it's modem(/router? I never get the difference) function would be of any use to me. We already have router, but it's pretty old. Would it give me faster internet? And could I receive internet from my ISP on it at the same time as the other router? Would I have to install a completely new network and all that stuff? I'm don't understand too much about everything to do with networks and routers etc. so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Frits

2. old-wiz macrumors G3