Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

markw10

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 4, 2006
I am relatively new to the Mac and know it's time for a good backup program. I have looked and seen backup programs such as Silverkeeper and Retrospect. I will be backing up to a hard drive that's attached to a airdisk and at times as well to a Lacie Firewire drive. I keep the Lacie in a safe for a 2nd backup in case of fire/theft or failure of my main backup.
Also I keep a 3rd backup on DVD offsite but this one isn't backed up often.
The way I like to do my backups on my server drive is on a weekly basis do a complete system backup and on a daily basis at night do a backup of any data (safari favorites, documents, quickbooks data, etc).
I have been a PC user for years and used Acronis most of the time and would either do a system backup or select certain directories to backup. I tried a trial of Silverkeeper when i first got my system. Maybe I did something wrong but it seemed hard to use and seemed to only have the full system backup option. What are some backup programs I should try? I know TimeMachine is coming out but I at least need a good solution until Oct.

Mpulsive81

macrumors 6502
Jun 7, 2006
McKinney, TX

Everyone keeps talking about Superduper, I'm thinking about checking it out. Question I have is, what is the difference between that and the Apple Backup (the orange umbrella program) that is listed on apple's website? It may help to know that I have a .mac membership. What features could I look forward to that I don't have already?

justG

macrumors member
Apr 9, 2007
Orlando, FL, US