Looking for a good RAID 1 (Mirrored) Enclosure...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by OCDMacGeek, Nov 12, 2007.

1. OCDMacGeek macrumors 6502a

OCDMacGeek

I know there are tons of threads on external hard drives. However, these threads rarely discuss (and not fully) the best RAID 1 enclosures. I am no expert on the topic, but I believe that a RAID 1 mirrored enclosure is perfect for my needs.

I have all of my media on an external disk, but I need to ensure that it this disk goes bad I won't lose everything. As far as I understand it, if one disk of a RAID 1 mirrored setup goes bad, you are still good to go as long as the other disk is fine.

What are your recommendations for good RAID 1 enclosures? I would like to get a 1 TB setup, cost permitting. If it costs too much, I would go down to 750 GB.

Is it possible to buy two external drives and combine them into a RAID 1 setup through software?

Thanks for your help.

2. giom macrumors newbie

Hi,

I've been looking to buy a raid 1 setup too... and so I'm interested in what others might say about this topic.

Right now the most interesting Raid1 setup I found is
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer Technology/GM8U2KIT0GB/?source=webnov13
    It costs $929.99 dollars for a 1TB raid 1 mirror setup or 600 dollars for 750Gb (a much better price)
    There is a review on this webpage
    http://www.macobserver.com/review/2007/07/20.1.shtml

Now the problem for me is that while it looks good it has no esata connector.... And I was planning on modding my mac mini to use a sata-to-esata cable on the sata connection to the internal harddrive so as to use this external harddisk as the boot hard disk of my mini (to get a great file server)....

Does anybody know such an enclosure with both firewire and esata connectors reasonable price (less than 200 dollars w/o harddisk) and hardware raid1 ?