Looking for a KVM Switch for two Mac Pro's

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by machenryr, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. machenryr macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #1
    I've got perhaps a slightly unique issue. Well maybe not. I have two Mac Pros I'm getting ready to upgrade. One if the monitors died so I'm trying to figure out a way to use both with one monitor.

    I connected them via Ethernet cable. It kind of works. At least I can access the others drives, but it's bit quite working well it consistently for me to really RUN that other Mac, log in and out.

    So I thought I get a KVM switch. I bought the IOGear GCS632U. Cool. But the monitor uses DVI and the KVM is VGA. No problem. I bought three adapters. I'm stuck at the front of the KVM as it requires a MALE VGA. I can't even find any. So I must be doing this wrong. It can't be this complicated, can it? What am I missing?

    Any suggestions as to how to do this? Start over? What do I need? I guess I bought the wrong one. Fry's electronics didn't have one but I can order it. I guess that's what I'll do unless there are better suggestions??
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Turn on screen sharing or buy KVM with DVI connectors.
     
  3. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #3
    Yup. I turned screen sharing on and it worked for awhile, but it's s real hassle if that Mac restarts or something goes haywire and it won't launch.

    In my impatience I went to Frys and bought the switcher, the only one which was VGA. I see more now at Amazon.
     
  4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Indeed screen sharing will not show you the booting only once the graphics loads at the end of that booting will it become active. Should almost be able to use VGA to DVI adapter on that one you have I know that is what I use to connect to mine which is VGA only. Can be tricky depending on the connector needed though DVI-I or DVI-D and what type of VGA m/f is on the other end of that.
     
  5. Kaspin macrumors member

    Kaspin

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    #5
    You can also check if the monitor has multiple inputs and use of those for the 2nd mac. You'd still need a second mouse and keyboard this way.
     
  6. TheStork, Feb 1, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2016

    TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #6
    I may be too late for you, but I use the IOGear 1104 KVM switch for my 1920x1200 monitor and four systems. Works great! I also have an IOGear 1644 dual-link, dual view (two monitors) KVM switch that shares two monitors, one of which is a Dell U2711 monitor (2560 x 1440). Both of these KVM switches do the job!...and I found them inexpensively on eBay.
     
  7. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #7
    Btw I got the proper DVI KVM switch and it works great. I waited until I upgraded the CPU so I only hooked it up yesterday, but it works great. Thanks.
     

Share This Page