Looking for a Lens that has good zoom capabilities

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by I AM THE MAN, Apr 8, 2012.

1. I AM THE MAN macrumors 6502

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to SLR Photography and so far, I only have 3 lens kits and I'm trying add another one. I'm looking for a lens that has some good zoom capabilities. So far, I've come down to only a few options.

Lens 1: http://www.amazon.com/Tamron-28-300...ON8I/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1333918279&sr=8-8

Lens 2: http://www.amazon.com/Canon-55-250m...1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1333920166&sr=1-1

If anyone has any other suggestions please feel free to list them.

My current Lens kits I have:

Canon 18-55mm
    Canon 50mm EF f/1.8
    Canon 28-135mm USM

Thanks for the answers in advance.

2. SithTracy macrumors newbie

SithTracy

I have the 55-250mm, but honestly have yet to use it. I hear great things about it. I shoot indoor sports on my crop sensor with a 70-200mm f2.8. I am hoping to get outdoors with it soon and try it on some girls softball (obviously I have an athletic daughter). What are you looking to do with it? I would not suggest either for shooting indoor sports. Outdoor it should be fine. I've looked at serveral images shot with the Canon 55-250mm and they look quite sharp. I was considering selling it for a Tamron 70-300 VR for outdoor, but will be giving it a shot soon and based on what I saw suspect I will hold on to it.

Guessing your uses, I would suggest looking hard at the Canon. Not a fan of the super zoom type lens. Your focal lengths are covered. If perhaps you were vacationing and wanting to pack light, I'd say look at the Tamron 28-300 though I have not researched it.

3. TheReef macrumors 68000

TheReef

Do you really need another kit zoom?

If you got the Tamron you would have some serious overlap.

My choice out of the two would be the 55-250 IS.

4. I AM THE MAN thread starter macrumors 6502