Looking for clarification: can a 4,1 run an AMD R9 280x without external PSU?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Sharky II, Oct 7, 2014.

  1. Sharky II, Oct 7, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014

    Sharky II macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm looking for a new graphics card and would like to be 100% clear on if my 2009 Mac Pro can run an AMD R9 280x without needing an extneral PSU? I'm reading that some people can, and some people can't. Here's one thread where somebody mentioned that they can't get it going without external power: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1722681&highlight=r9+280x

    My system is relatively loaded for a single-CPU:

    2009 4,1 flashed to 5,1 with W3690 3.46GHz 6-core chip, 24GB 1333 Ram, 4HDs and an SSD in the optical bay. SSL MadiXtreme PCIe card in there too.

    Currently have a GT120 which i'd consider leaving in another slot in case i need to boot 10.6. If i have to remove it, that's OK, i'll just swap cards as it won't be that often. I'd like to be able to add an Apricorn Velocity Duo in the future, as well as another SSD and possibly a USB3 or other PCIe card.

    I was leaning towards: MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X GAMING 3GB. I won't actually be playing games on it, and have no interest in over-clocking it unless it suddenly becomes underpowered in the future. I'm just looking for a modern GPU to handle my 30" and 24" display, speed up the sluggish GUI, speed up FCPX for the rare occasions its used, and also handle 4k displays when they're cheaper.

    I understand that you have to use one 6-pin cable and one 6 -> 8 pin converter cable. Is this a problem?

    What do you guys think?

    If it does require a PSU, i'll just get a 7950, or perhaps a 7970 - they're all roughly the same price on eBay. I need as quiet a machine as possible.

    Thanks!

    Ed
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  3. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #3
    Guru3D estimated that card at 239W under load in their review.
     
  4. Sharky II, Oct 7, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014

    Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    See... this is why i'm asking!

    Right... so you can get 75 watt from PCIe, then 75 watt from each 6-pin cable... is that correct?

    If so that's 225W, which means that under certain conditions, there could be issues...?

    I'm not a graphics power user, i'm an audio guy that likes big monitors (4k soon), smooth guis, and does some occasional FCPX work. I don't want to push things unnecessarily.

    Thanks!
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    No power issues, believe me. I used a lot of 8-pin cards in my MP (including 280X first rev - more power hungry than rev 2), some nearly 260W under heavy load. Heavy means ~100% GPU load.
    Kennyman first wanted do overclock his card, next he was planning to add second one.
     
  6. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #6
    In that case, R9 280x might be the next upgrade in my 5,1 :cool:
     
  7. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #7
    +1, can confirm that based on practical experience. I'm using a Gigabyte 280X BF4 LE flashed with EFI in my 2009 cMP 5,1 and it works like a charm, no issues either.

    Hardware Monitor shows the classic Mac Pro is built with lots of 'headroom' regarding power draw.
     
  8. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    That's great, cheers guys.

    My hesitation was based on Kennyman's comment in that thread:

    "Just want to update this post, I can confirmed that 280X works well in Mac Pro 5,1. But I could not run the card at factory clock using the internal pcie power."
     
  9. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #9
    Feel free to believe him or us, I'd say thats spreading FUD. There aren’t any reports about real world apps causing a shutdown, nowhere. Have yet to see a real proof of the same or a comparable config that caused any harm to a 4,1 or 5,1 motherboard either.

    Stay away from that ported Furmark crap, thats a bad habit of windows users anyways :p and you’ll be fine.
     
  10. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #10
    Hello,

    Did you bother to read my wrong thread or just a sentence? If it is only one sentence…then please, no need to quote my post.
     
  11. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    Even "ported Furmark crap" didn't bring my MP's PSU to overload. With GTX 580 SSC it was close, ~275W peak. It was playing with fire ;) 280X is a lot safer.
     
  12. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Hi,

    I did read your thread, but I dont know anything about overclocking and had a few reservations. I didn't fully understand everything said.

    Your thread was just one example that I'd read that made me unsure - there are plenty of other threads saying that there's not enough power, and that somehow the 6->8 pin thing was a bad idea. Hence this thread. No need for any animosity.

    Cheers,

    Ed
     
  13. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #13
    ok, then please ignore my post and follow the rest.
     
  14. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    On a slightly unrelated note - but while i have you guys here :D - how can i tell if the 280x is the Rev 2 that runs cooler?

    Is it across all 280x boards or just specific vendors? As i said, i'm after the MSI Gaming.

    I'm trying to google to find out about it, but nothing's coming up immediately.

    Cheers

    Ed
     
  15. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #15
    Sharky II,
    Found this - https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=179561.0
     
  16. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #16
    First rev was based on Tahiti XT2 chip, second one on XTL. If you'll buy brand new, not the aftermarket one 99,99% that you'll get the second rev.
     
  17. Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #17
    Right, so there's no way of telling if you are getting a 1.2 other than the BIOS. I thought there might be some visual differences - i was planning on getting a second hand one off ebay.

    It might be worth spending the extra for a new one then.

    Thanks for all the info!

    Ed
     
  18. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #18
    I've been running a flashed 280X in my 5,1 Mac Pro for a couple months now without any power problems. But I have to tell you that I've been disappointed with it's capabilities. It's barely better than my old GTX 680 when it comes to rendering & exporting within Adobe Premiere Pro & Media Encoder. This is why I'm planning on upgrading to the 290X next week once Yosemite drops. As far as whether or not the 290X can be safely powered by my Mac Pro, well I guess I'll see.
     
  19. Sharky II, Oct 9, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2014

    Sharky II thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Sharky II

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #19
    I'm sure coming from a GT120 (8800GT on previous mac) it will good enough for me :D:p

    Plus, as an occasional FCPX user, i like how it's basically a D700, and so i know it'll be pretty well optimised for.
     

Share This Page