Looking For Experience

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by dkotter, Dec 10, 2009.

1. dkotter macrumors member

I am a beginning web designer working towards my degree. I would like to start getting some experience outside of school assignments. This means I am willing to do design work for free for anyone that is interested. It can be a business site, personal, family, blog, etc.

I have good skills with XHTML and CSS and can integrate some JavaScript as well. I am not to advanced but I will be able to make a pretty decent site I believe.

So if anyone is interested let me know. Thanks!

2. elitesouth macrumors member

elitesouth

You are something very valuable to many businesses out there... someone willing to design a website for free. That's great!

Let me advise that you steer clear of businesses wanting free or very low cost web design as much as you can.

They'll usually include in their ad: "Perfect for college students or for your portfolio." These are often businesses that feel forced or pressured by their industry to have a website, and either don't understand or refuse to acknowledge the importance of having an image (figurative) and marketing material online. They often won't know what they want, and ultimately want more from you (time, effort, stress) than you can offer with a $0 price tag.

I'm not discouraging you from designing a website solely for experience, but rather applauding you for advertising your services in a more reserved part of the web: MacRumors.

If you need any advice on coding methods, web standards, accessibility, search engine optimization and (most importantly) usability, shoot me a PM and I'd be glad to help you out.

3. designguy79 macrumors 6502

Another idea for you would be to create "themes" (templates) for various Content Management Systems / Blog systems. This would help build a nice portfolio for you, and usually people leave links on there back to your web site.