Looking For External Hard Drive Cage... I think.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Green™, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Green™ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #1
    Firstly, I would like to say that this cage is for my iMac (The iMac forum didn't reply) but figured owners of Mac Pros would know more about large types of storage.

    I've got 4 hard drives lying around my room from my old PC, and would like them all in a cage of sorts sitting next to my iMac. 3 of the drives are data and the 4th drive will be reformatted as a time machine backup.

    I've mroogled this and strangely couldn't find information about external hard drive cages. I don't think I need or want Raid either, do I? Thanks for making it this far.

    To reiterate: Looking for an external hard drive bay that supports 4-5 3.5' drives where 3 have data and the other will be used for backup. Any help will be appreciated, thank you. :eek:
     
  2. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
  3. Green™ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I already have two single external drive cases, what I need is a large cage of sorts that I can put all four drives in.

    The last one you listed does in fact store 4 drives which is what I want, but it has RAID... Do all cages have RAID? I don't think I need it. Then again, if it works like I wanted, It'll be good.

    Any cage recommendations for those of you who have or used them in the past?
     
  4. hval macrumors member

    hval

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
  5. Green™ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #5
    I guess I do want RAID... Is it true that if one hard drive goes, they all do? Or something like that?
     
  6. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  7. Green™ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #7
    Hey, thanks for the link. Alas, I feel like such an amateur after reading it. LOL Shoulda known seeing as it's for pro users...

    I just want to access 3 hard drives from my iMac, without spending an arm and leg to accomplish the task. What would you do? Firewire 800 is the only port I need...
     
  8. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #8
    raid 0 yes if one HDD goes all data is gone ? but as I say this is true for a single HDD ?

    raid 1/0 or 10 or 1+0 many names :) is 4 HDD or more that work with raid 1 and 0 together :) hence the name
    so you get speed and safety
    or raid 5 is safe ?



    the mercury cases from OWC might be the ticket for you ? many connections reasonable price a few variety of ways to configure them that can work with the imac and grow to eSATA if you want

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/hard-drives/RAID/Desktop/
     
  9. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
  10. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #10
    There are a few solutions on Newegg...

    This is a known quantity but expensive...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816111113

    These are cheaper...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...1&cm_re=4_bay_firewire-_-16-322-001-_-Product

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816142003
     

Share This Page