Looking for Firewire external hard drive enclosure

RouseyD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 28, 2012
Hello all,

I've been reading these forums for a long time, having gone from Windows over to Mac last year, and have found them to be really valuable (as well as entertaining!).

I have searched the forums but not found the answer, but apologies if it is there somewhere.

Here is what I have:

I have an iMac, MBP and MBA - a Time Capsule handles the backup for all of them.

I have an external USB enclosure connected to my iMac (which I leave on all the time) which holds two hard disks. I have my iTunes library mirrored over these two disks using RAID 1 which I set up with Disk Utility. Because this is attached by USB, Time Machine includes the drive in backups. I put the iTunes library on the external drive so as not to clog up the drive on the iMac which I use for home photo editing, video editing etc. and to give the library breathing room to grow - its about 600gb at the moment.

Additionally I have a ReadyNAS Duo - originally bought for backing up my old Windows desktop. I tried putting my iTunes library on this but as Time Capsule/Time Machine doesn't back up network attached disks, I now plan on using this as a periodic mirror of the Time Capsule disk to keep off-site.

I also have a few SATA disks of varying sizes from 500gb to 1gb which I'd like to put to good use.

I have it set up this way as it kinda grew organically, and the NAS and extra drives are left over from pre-Mac days. If there is a much more sensible way to do things, I'm all ears!! If it helps to know, I also have an Apple TV and airport express feeding music to a Zeppelin - hence why I leave the iMac on all the time.

Here is what I want to achieve: