Looking for hardware advice for iOS development

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by j.benj, Jun 13, 2012.

1. j.benj macrumors member

Hi all, thanks in advance for reading this :)

I'm a former Palm/HP app developer with two apps in their app store having moderate success. When HP botched webOS I finally decided to throw in the towel. I wound up purchasing an iPhone 4S and new iPad when they launched and have become a very big fan of iOS in the process.

Now I'm starting to learn Objective-C and I will be ready to try doing some iOS development in the near future. The problem is that I do not own a Mac and have zero experience with them. I've done a bit of reading online lately and it SEEMS like a Mac Mini would be sufficient for getting started. The geek in me wants to go all-out and get a retina MacBook but realistically I just can't afford to spend that much. The responsible part of me is leaning toward the $799 mini since I've read that the entry level one is a little strapped with only 2gb of RAM.

I have a high-end Windows 7 PC that I can do all my graphics work on so I suppose the Mac would only have to be good enough to write/compile code on.

So my questions are really :

1. Will the $799 mini be good enough to develop iOS apps on?
    2. Is there anything I'm not thinking of that might pop up down the road?
    3. Any other advice?

Thanks a lot for anything you guys can offer, I really appreciate it!

2. Peace macrumors Core

Peace

That mini is fine if you're just using it to compile IOS apps.

It's actually beefier than some people think.

I'd add some more memory to it though.

And. Welcome to the Mac side of life.
    :)

3. j.benj, Jun 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012

j.benj thread starter macrumors member

Awesome, thanks :) So you think I should bump it up to 8gb from 4gb? Do I have to get the RAM from Apple or can it be gotten from 3rd parties like Crucial?