Looking for PCI-express eSATA card for Mac Pro that supports 64 bit OS kernel

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jag-mac-2010, Mar 1, 2010.

1. jag-mac-2010 macrumors newbie

I'm new to Mac and loving it so far. I've been using Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit for graphic and web design the past several years until I just couldn't take it any longer.

Trouble is I had all my client files on an external Seagate hard drive with only an eSATA connection on the device (which I connected to my PC with the included eSATA PCI card.

But apparently my new Mac Pro will only accept PCI-express cards, and I'm having a hard time finding a PCI-express eSATA card that supports a 64 bit OS (I'm using Snow Leopard).

Can anybody point me to such a card??

Thanks!

2. GMink macrumors regular

GMink

Give the guys at www.otherworldcomputing.com a call, or check out their web site.

Top rated retailer and their customer support can't be beat.

George

3. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

lemonade-maker

4. jag-mac-2010 thread starter macrumors newbie

OK, I contacted OWC and got a rep named Angela who was very helpful. In fact she told me I was lucky to have gotten her because just on the 19th of February she had to do some really detailed research on this issue because none of the PCI esata cards they sell are listed for 64 bit. But they found an outside researcher who tested one that they make on 64 bit and it worked well, so she recommended me to that one.

Here's the link to that product: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer Technology/MXPCIE6GS2/

And here's the link to the review by the outside guy: http://macperformanceguide.com/Reviews-MAXPower_eSATA_6G.html

She also pointed me to a device that basically has cables that you just pluggin to the mother board into two extra sata connections that are supposed to be there somewhere. This one is only a $19 solution as opposed to the $55 I'd pay for the card above.