Looking for software to store articles and information

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Broc27, Aug 11, 2010.

1. Broc27 macrumors member

Hello there!

I am looking for some sort of software that, from my limited research, doesn't seem to exist.

I work as a consultant and I read articles and books all over the web that contain information to which I'd like to come back once in a while. I'm looking for some software in which I could store the said articles in a way that make it possible to search them with keywords. Being able to write small summaries would be a great bonus and I'd also like to be able to keep references to paper books and articles.

I tried using Delicious and as good as it is as an online solution I need something more robust and that I can consult offline. I'll probably be copying and pasting articles to make sure to be able to read them once the links are broken.

Anyone know what I could use? I'm of course willing to pay a price since it will help me tremendously in my work.

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. ksmith80209 macrumors 6502a

I use InstaPaper for this purpose. I have folders (tools, ideas, etc) and I file the article in there once i read them.

3. steveoc macrumors regular

I think DEVONthink would meet your needs. It's got browser extensions/bookmarklets that let you save a site as a bookmark, web archive, pdf, or html with a field from comments. Then it sends you tuck it into any folder in the DB with a slick interface.

There are multiple ways to enter files into it with drag and drop, services, or through an import. It also manages pdfs, iWork files, MS Office files, OpenOffice, and more depending on version. It performs text searches within these files.

http://www.devon-technologies.com/products/devonthink/comparison.html

Price range from $25 for DEVONnote to $150 for Pro Office. Pro office includes integrated OCR making it easy to input print materials quickly.

Try their free 150 hr use time demo.