Looking for some networking advice

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by TonD, Oct 27, 2009.

1. TonD macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I recently moved into a new condo and now that all the stuff requiring brushes, saws, hammers and screwdrivers has been done, I am looking at setting up my network. As I am no expert in this area (though capable enough to set something up with some well meant advices), I am searching for some hints.

First let me tell you what I already got, and what I want.

Today my 20 mbit ADSL2+ connection will be activated, and I will provided with some kind of modem with built in 4 port wired router and 54g WLAN. I don't know the brand or type, but I think they (the cheap crappy ones) are mostly the same so it shouldn't matter that much I think.

Other than that I have a N-model AirPort Express laying around doing nothing (but I have a plan for that, anyway).

The devices I am looking to connect, all via wifi, are the following:

1) Windows 7/OSX86 HackPro
    2) iPhone 3G
    3) Apple TV
    4) Xbox 360
    5) Dell notebook (XP, work..)
    6) ACER Aspire One netbook

1) shouldn't be a problem, as I will just get a decent USB/PCI N card for that machine.

Some caveats are:

- Device 2, 5 and 6 only support G, while I'd really like ('require') to sync with my ATV over N.
    - Xbox has no WIFI at all, so I either need some bridge or the ridiculously priced MS accesory (which basically is a Xbox 360 only bridge).

The ATV, 360 (and soon bluray player I think) are in the same location in the living room.

The AirPort Express I plan on putting in the main bedroom to stream music there via AirTunes.

(if you have little time or patience, start reading here!!)

Sooo, let me finally cut to the chase:

1) what purchases do I need, if any, to get optimal wifi speeds, given the fact that I need both G and N networks. (I am thinking Airport Extreme)