Looking for someone with Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jonwil, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. jonwil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #1
    I am a programmer who is working on some mod tools for Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars. Whilst the tools will be windows only (and would only run on mac via WINE, parallels, bootcamp etc), my goal is to make the output compatible with the mac version of the game.

    I have some questions: (this is based on a game running the latest 1.08 patch for C&C3 on mac)
    1.Does the mac version of the game support custom maps and mods?
    2.Does the mac version feature a "command and conquer 3 tiberium wars control center" that has a C&C3 logo and buttons such as "play" and "game browser"?
    What options appear on the dialog that "game browser" opens up?
    3.Can someone send me the resources.tg file from Command and Conquer 3. app\Contents\Resources\transgaming\c_drive\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Command & Conquer 3\RetailExe\1.8 (I think thats where it is anyway) as this file will contain information essential to making the output of my tools compatible with C&C3 for mac
    4.Also, I am wishing to know the file size of all files in C&C3 for mac so I can compare them with C&C3 on PC to find out what files are different (if someone has already done such a comparison, thats even better)
     
  2. bulldawgs10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #2
    you got your man right here... shoot me an email, I'll message you the one that I normally use.

    and FYI EA provides NO support for mac modding.
     
  3. ggunter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #3
    C&C Mac and Wine?

    So I was poking around the C&C app and noticed that at the bottom of everything- it appears as though C&C on the mac is simply running the windows version in WINE...Is this correct? I wanted to run it without the DVD so I imaged the DVD but it doesn't recognize the mounted disc. I'm guessing that I would have to reimage the .dmg as an iso to allow both the mac and the WINE environment to see everything, does that sound right?
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    It's CIDER, not wine.
     
  5. ggunter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #5
    Apples and Grapes...

    I won't get into the fact that I don't know what the difference is- I just think they're funny nomenclatures. Cider Vs. Wine... Hopefully one day we'll have Hard Cider (hardware accelerated). I was sort of bummed to find that this was basically emulated. I might as well just run it on my windows partition natively, right?
     
  6. togermano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #6
    Cider was made from wine though..... How is it emulated? It just allows windows APIs to be understood under mac..... It doesn't slow down the performance or anything...So why not buy the mac version? Even if it is emulated which it isn't whocares aslong as it runs good :p
     
  7. tog22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #7
    Where to buy in UK?

    Does anyone know where to buy this game for the Mac in the UK? Froogle UK (or 'Google Shopping', or whatever they're calling it these days) doesn't turn up anything, and neither does Amazon UK. But I can't quite believe EA have decided to simply ignore the UK market...
     
  8. NorCalLights macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #8
    How *does* it run, actually? I have a Macbook Pro C2D, 3gigs of RAM and Command and Conquer (the original) was a favorite game of mine growing up. If C&C3 runs well on my Mac, I'll march right over to the Apple store on my way home tonight.

    Otherwise, I'll slog through partitioning my hard drive and instal Windows... but that doesn't sound like fun at all. Is anyone actually playing the game in OSX and not in Bootcamp?
     
  9. ggunter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #9
    Mac Vs. Win on EA games

    Here's my gripe with the Mac version. My understanding is that EA posts updates to it's Windows games when needed but slacks off on the mac ports. Now this seems silly if it's all basically the same game, the mac port using cider being the only difference. Also- the mac version of C&C3 for instance is almost 6 gigs, 1/2 of which looks to be windows file directory crap for CIDER. So if I only needed one copy of all that CIDER specific windows software no matter how many games I have that would be fine. But it seems as though all this is embedded into the C&C package file on the mac. So on the mac I have to wait longer for updates from EA and have multiple copies of windows directory/files to play each game? Doesn't make sense. I guess what really pisses me off about this is that we're all grateful to EA for porting to the mac, but it doesn't really appear that they've done us any favors. I am by no means a windows tech or guru, I have however worked on Macs since the days of OS 7, so I think I know what I'm talking about, but much of it is conjecture from digging through the package file on the mac. Can someone who is savvy on both platforms shed some light on this further?
     
  10. tog22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #10
    From this review, it sounds like it'll run great on your machine...
     
  11. pyxelfish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #11
    Found this:
     
  12. rumbletum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    #12
    It's available from Apple Stores
     
  13. fillthesavage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #13
    So what were the answers to questions two and three?
     
  14. giokanaan, Jul 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011

    giokanaan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #14
    hello i have a mac and there is no game browser in the control center there is only these buttons :'play'-'check for updates'-'readme'-'visit website'-'quit'-'tech support'

    that is it i wish we could install mods i can't install mods because desura is only on mac

    please send a reply with the download link of the desura version for mac that you working on or something to install mods like game browser my e-mail is giokanaan@gmail.com thanks

    also there is no contents about game browser on the disc of mac
     
  15. giokanaan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #15
    check bacl

    hi please read the post i posted it will be helpfull on the same forum and everything i have c&c 3 using cider on mac not bootcamp:)
     
  16. giokanaan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #16
    question 3 answer: there is no game browser but there is the control center with play mac transgaming with cider not bootcamp mac disc

    question 4 answer: of cours here it is in the attachement hope it helps (i took it from the cider patcher because i couldn't update my game but i'm pretty sure it is the same file)



    :apple:
     
  17. midniter macrumors regular

    midniter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #17
    *cough*........ Cheater here....... *cough*

    So how do I make my life easier... by adding a line... in some file... that would gimme some cheats in the MAC version of the game

    I looked at all the files under "show package content".... and nothing here looks like a file... a noob like me ... can play around with

    Help please :)
     

Share This Page