looking to buy a MacBook, suggestions?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by EatsRainbows, Jul 29, 2011.

1. EatsRainbows macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I am a Humanities/Psychology student in the market for a Mac. I have previously been Windows only as I was pretty much governed by what was cheap at the time.

Anyway, I'm torn between the high end 13" MBP, and high end 13" MBA.
    my current computer usage is web-surfing, watching movies, music and writing essays, creating presentations. I would like to get into an MMO of some description (cant at the moment as my current laptop is horrible).

I have a 1Tb Seagate GoFlex Home hdd hooked up to my network which stores all of my media and backs up my computer.

which MacBook would, in your opinion suit me best?

2. EatsRainbows thread starter macrumors newbie

3. EmbraceNext macrumors member

If you are even thinking games like MMOs you really need to get a 15". I just got my new 15" yesterday and I was blown away with how fast and snappy it is.

Anyway, for what you are asking, I would recommend the Pro 13". I think it offers more to your needs, you MAY need that optical drive built in. Also the i7 cpu is awesome. The i5 isn't bad by any means, but that i7 just gives that extra punch. If you are even thinking that you could use the Pro 13" then get it. The air is amazing for the weight and super portable, but if you don't NEED that then get something with more power.

4. EatsRainbows thread starter macrumors newbie

I've read a fair few reviews of the 13" MBP, and was concerned about the integrated graphics? I realise the MBA had the same Intel HD 3000 as the MBP, but how would the MBA and/or MBP cope with WoW, Rift, or EVE Online?

5. TheBoors macrumors newbie

The MBP 13'' would do pretty well with WoW for sure. Better then the MBA as it's simply faster.