Looking to buy a new 24" iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by merccyyy, Jul 30, 2009.

1. merccyyy macrumors newbie

merccyyy

Hey guys im a new college student and am looking to take advantage of the student discount for a new iMac. I already have a macbook pro but I do alot of photoshop and editing overall in which im interested in buying a iMac. I was wondering with anyone who has one of the new iMac's that if they play HD videos very well no matter what codec (.h264, mkv) it may be. I do understand that the 9400m is a integrated graphics processor which uses the processor and ram, I will not play games at all just play hidef videos as well as edit. I would like to make sure with someone who has one that there is no lag of any sort or any problems with hidef videos.

Cliffnotes:
    - New iMac 24", does it play hidef videos well, wont be playing any games just dont want any lag if I were to play hidef movies like it is on my macbook pro.

would me building a pc be a bit more worth it? I would like to stick with a mac but if the iMac is sufficient with playing hd videos and myself being able to edit them would be great as well.

2. oculus42 macrumors 6502

Codec Concerns

Get Perian, Flip4Mac, and VLC. Between those you can just about play vinyl.

3. oculus42 macrumors 6502

When you say hi-def, do you mean 720p or 1080p? I've never tried playing 1080p content on my MacBook Pro (2.4 GHz, 4GB RAM), but I have watched 720p content from various sources without issue.

4. TBi macrumors 68030

TBi

It should play these fine using the CPU alone. It's a powerful CPU and while 1080p is processor intensive it should be fast enough.

The 9400 uses system ram but it doesn't use the CPU any more than a separate dedicated GPU would. It's a different kettle of fish than the GMA used in older Macbooks.

5. merccyyy thread starter macrumors newbie

merccyyy