Looking to Buy a New MBP 13 inch...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ChrisM07, Sep 8, 2011.

1. ChrisM07 macrumors newbie

...and I have some questions. I have done quite a few searches but I can't seem to find these answers (maybe I'm blind?) so please bear with me here.

I am currently using a Dell XPS laptop that is about 5.5 years old now. It's time I bought a new one (at least I think so anyways) and I am really interested in getting a MacBook Pro (my first Mac!). I am interested in the 13 inch model because of it's portability and it's price relative to the 15" and 17" models (I'm a student). So, I can't decide on the i5 or the i7 model. I work at Best Buy and the Apple rep at our store said hands down the i7 model. I went online and researched the differences between the two and from what I read, there isn't a huge difference between the two and that it's not worth the extra dough. The hard drive difference isn't that big of a deal to me anyways because I already have a 500 GB external which I plan to store a lot of stuff on.

Currently, my Dell laptop has the Centrino Core Duo processor at 1.83 GHz, 4 GB of RAM and a 256 MB integrated video card, running Windows Vista Ultimate. The reason I want a new laptop is because it's struggling with the most simple tasks (like typing these words in this forum for instance). The processor is always running at 100% which makes things VERY and I mean VERY sluggish and my memory use usually hovers around 50-60% (which leads me to think I don't need any more than the 4 GB of RAM that I already have since I'm not maxing it out).

So what do you guys think? Is the i7 worth the extra $300, and is more than 4 GB of RAM really necessary? I don't want to get the computer and then 3 years down the line think, "should'a got more processor".