Looking to Get iMac....Will I be able to play WOW

Discussion in 'iMac' started by whynot83706, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. whynot83706 macrumors 6502

    whynot83706

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    I sold my PC, I got money and now I have last question will I be able to play World of Warcraft on iMac (20" - 2.4Ghz - 2GB)....is anyone playing WoW on iMac.
     
  2. nickf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #2
    In short, yes.

    I'm playing WoW on a 1 Gb 2.4 GHz iMac and, apart from the occasional freeze when exiting full-screen mode (a well documented bug that Apple is working on), it looks and performs great. All graphics details are turned up to max, everything is smooth.
     
  3. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #3
    You'll love it - you're very fortunate that it's WoW that you play, it's pretty much the game for Mac and Blizzard have done a very good job.
     
  4. whynot83706 thread starter macrumors 6502

    whynot83706

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Nice....so i guess I got myself a first Mac ever.....as soon as kitty comes out.
     
  5. 23am macrumors regular

    23am

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #5
    Yes. If it doesn't work, you can always install Windows too. :)
     
  6. Tara Davis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #6
    When WoW came out, I was playing it all the time on a G4 iBook (64MB ATI "mobility" card). It ran fine.

    WoW scales down really well. Even on the Integrated-graphics mini & MacBook it runs great.

    So yeah, the new iMac is certainly up to the task.
     
  7. zen macrumors 65816

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #7
    I bought a 2.4Ghz 20" iMac recently PRIMARILY for playing WoW. 3GB of RAM and it's a smooth as silk - I get a sustained 30FPS in most places with every single video setting on full and full screen glow enabled (hey, I like it). In cities it goes up to about 60, and inside buildings and some instances it goes to about 90.

    And that's with EVERYTHING on full. I needed an upgrade so I can start Kara and other raid instances. I imagine if I turned all the settings to zero I'd get 100+ fps even in the busiest situations.

    In short, WoW is a rather nice experience on the iMac. Just fill it with RAM!
     
  8. Mudman1948 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #8
    WoW works very well

    WoW works very well on my new iMac. I've got the 24", 2.8, w/ 4GB of ram. I also play it on the road with my 12" Powerbook 1.5GHz 1.25GB of RAM, and it runs pretty well on that too.

    Your frame rates will be different depending on where you are in the game. In Outlands you'll see a significant drop in frame rate, and I'd guess that's because it's got more graphic intense stuff than the older maps.

    My 24" sees avg. 25-35 fps in Outlands, and it sees 35-55 fps when not in Outlands. Indoors and outdoors frame rates are different too, but I can't remember those off the top of my head.

    I had it freeze 1 time when I switched from full screen to windowed mode in the ~1 month I've had it.

    One suggestion though... don't buy your RAM from Apple. You can get a lot more ram for your $$$ if you buy it from a 3rd party like OWC. I've not had any trouble with the 4GB that I bought from them that only cost me about $250 as opposed to the $700ish that Apple is charging. Plus I have a 1GB stick left over that I can sell if I want.

    One more thing. With the latest updates Blizzard introduced some Mac Only features, and although they don't work on the Aluminum iMacs right now, Blizzard says they are working to resolve some driver issues to get those features going. The features ahve to do with saving video of what you do in WoW... My guess is like a raid or something like that, that you might want to save a Youtube later...

    Good luck and I hope you enjoy. My powerbook had some hiccups when I first got it, but you will greatly appreciate the longevity of a solid computer, aka MAC
     
  9. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Yes, it will play it fine as everyone has said.

    If you haven't bought it yet and are in the US, Amazon's price (1420 after rebate) even beats out the educational price on Apple (1399+taxes), so I suggest buying it there unless you need some special configuration or if you live in a state that doesn't have sales tax.
     

Share This Page