Looking to get my 1st MBP 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by POZEST, Feb 28, 2012.

1. POZEST macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie to the forum and a newbie to buying apple computers.

I only in the last few years bought an Ipod and most recently 3 iphones (one for my Gf & the 3gs for me which broke when it swan dived off a balcony, and most recently my 4S).

I been happy with my apple products and now that I need a new lap top am seriously considering a Mac Book pro 15".

I currently have a 15" (model number ??) HP laptop. It worked great when I first got it, now its a bit slow and I plan to give it to my GF.

Logging onto the apple website, I selected the 15" 2.2Ghz Model.

As I progressed through the check out phases (to just feel it out) I noticed a few options for more dollars:

2.5GHZ processor for ($250 more)

8GB of Ram over the standard 4GB of RAM for ($200 more)

Hi-Res Glossy Widescreen Display (Add $100 more ) OR
    Hi REs AntiGlare Dispaly (Add $150 more).

I can see myself willingly paying the extra cash for more RAM and better resolution.

My questions are:

Should I get the Hi-Res glossy ANTI-Glare or just the Hi-Res Glossy Display?
    Should I pay the extra $250 to get the 2.5Ghz over the 2.2GHz chip? (would I even notice the difference?)

Should I wait a few more months (if anyone knows) of a new series of Mac Book Pros coming out?

My lap top is mainly used for casual internet surfing at Starbucks, amateur Photoshop Editing, and amateur music editing, and I now want to start making amateur Youtube videos with music. Said videos would be 90 seconds max I figure. but it would be nice to know I have the power to make longer videos (say 2.5 to 5minutes) to even 30 minutes.

I'd also like to record video game sessions I may have online with my PS3 to also post those online (not sure If I will be doing that for sure).

Thanks, and let me know if more information is needed.

2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

MrCheeto