Looking to Purchase MBP 13" 2011 or 2012 from Craigslist

hulksmashed31

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 7, 2014
Hello,
I am looking to purchase a macbook pro 13" from craigslist. It will be used mostly for school.

Right now I am on a Sony Via with an AMD e-450, so yeah.

Would you recommend a 2011 or 2012?

Now Craigslist. I did a search on the forums and found some really horrifying stories. As a college student I cant afford to spend 500-700 on craigslist only to find that it has a password or a hidden problem.

What are some things I need to look out for?
Apple Care
Dents or Dings
Password Protection

Does the Apple store provide free diagnostic test in store?

Any more advice/tips would be great
Thank You

MacVibe

macrumors regular
Dec 21, 2009
Main differences are: 2012 was upgraded from USB2 to USB3 and graphics from HD3000 to HD4000. If either of those matter then get a 2012, but you can probably save at least $200 on the 2011 and then get a nice SSD to really speed things up.

StockDC2

macrumors regular
May 16, 2011
1. Battery Cycles + Charge Capacity
2. Make sure all keys on keyboard work.
3. No iCloud registration.
4. Take it to an Apple Store for a hardware diagnostics. Also ask them to remove the bottom panel and inspect for water damage.

BasicGreatGuy

macrumors G5
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
Hello,
I am looking to purchase a macbook pro 13" from craigslist. It will be used mostly for school.

Right now I am on a Sony Via with an AMD e-450, so yeah.

Would you recommend a 2011 or 2012?

Now Craigslist. I did a search on the forums and found some really horrifying stories. As a college student I cant afford to spend 500-700 on craigslist only to find that it has a password or a hidden problem.

What are some things I need to look out for?
Apple Care
Dents or Dings
Password Protection

Does the Apple store provide free diagnostic test in store?

Any more advice/tips would be great
Thank You