Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

George20

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2017
Hello everyone I am new to the forums, but I would like some input on purchasing a macbook. I was wondering what the best option is for someone on a budget. The new macbook air is around 900 dollars give or take, but I have noticed tons of macbook pros on ebay refurbished for a deal. I have never owned one so i would like your input please. I am a college student, and I have noticed tons of 13 inch laptops never running out of battery in class, and it intrigued me.

Thanks,
George

Reactions: BeefCake 15

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
To be able to be of optimal assistance, I'll need to know more about what you would be using the computer for - what kind of programs you would run and that sort of thing. I can however say that pretty much no matter what, I cannot recommend the MacBook Air. They were brillant computers once, but they're no longer up to snuff and haven't been updated on key areas like the screen.

George20

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2017
I take notes, read college books, do college course work...learnsmart,vhl central, microsoft office) listen to itunes music subscription, browse the web, youtube, play some games once in a while(more of a console gamer nowadays, wouldn't mind a pc that would play h1z1 but it's not a deal breaker)

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
So I had to look up what this H1Z1 thing was, but for that you'll need to go up to a 15" MacBook Pro and a copy of Windows (you can run macOS and Windows as a dual boot system). The game doesn't appear to be available for Mac at least on Steam. But yeah, still possible with dual boot.