Looking to rollback drivers on new Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by willw9, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. willw9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #1
    OK. So I am trying to run 2 1920x1200 24" monitors via the Matrox DualHead2Go Digital Edition, achieving a "resolution" of 3840x1200. The old Macbook Pro (running NVIDIA GeForce 8600M) could do this, and my old HP Notebook (running NVIDIA GeForce Go 7400) could do this. However, the new Macbook Pro cannot.

    Obviously something is not right here. It is completely illogical that NIVIDA could make a better, faster GPU in the same product line that can't handle this pretty trivial task, so that's out. To my knowledge, the "resolution" 3840x1200 isn't exactly a "real" resolution; it is basically just 1920x1200 done twice. My claim has been forwarded to the Apple Engineers, and they suggested that I get the Dual Link DVI cable. I know this cable is for running 30" monitors at 2560x1600, but since my old computer didn't need a Dual Link and neither did the old Macbook Pro, I don't think this is the solution. Also, isn't 2560x1600 technically a higher resolution than 3840x1200?

    The only logical explanation really is that this is a driver issue, and since the new Pro's must be equipped with the latest drivers, it seems that rolling back the drivers should work.

    So, I am wondering the easiest way to do this.

    If this is not a great option, should I try to run the displays via Windows XP via VMWare Fusion (because it's presumably way easier to roll back drivers in Windows) ?

    Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #2
    Playing with drivers will cause you to lose video all together. Your trying to use 8600 drivers on a 9400+9700 card.. that isnt logical. It wont work.
     
  3. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #3
    No you need the miniDP to Dual Link DVI cable.
     
  4. willw9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #4
    For what it's worth, the Matrox product I have has 2 DVI inputs for the monitors, and one VGA output to plug into the notebook. Currently I have the mini-DP to VGA adapter to connect it all.
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    What does Matrox say about the issue? You'd think that they'd be hearing a lot about it by now.
     
  6. willw9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #6
    Matrox definetely does know about this issue, and the specialist I spoke with today said that they have a new Macbook Pro on order to their lab but it hasn't arrived yet.
     
  7. cg165 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    I could be misunderstanding you, but if you have 2 dvi inputs on the monitor why wouldn't you use those? Dvi should be much better than vga. If there's some other reason I apologize, just trying to help out. That dual link dvi is expensive so if that's the reason it makes sense.
     
  8. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #8
    You need the dual link dvi cable.

    The old laptops, etc, that you had had dual link dvi output, however the new mbp minidp -> dvi is only single link. That's why it's not working. There isn't enough bandwidth on a single link to support that high of a "fake" resolution.
     
  9. Protokoll macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #9
    You're wrong; this is, completely and exactly, the solution to your problem. You need a dual-link DVI cable.
     
  10. iamrobjr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #10
    Was their ever a solution for this?? I am trying to hook up my 2 24" 1920x1200 monitors and it is not working with my matrox dualhead2go.
     
  11. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    dual-link DVI cable.
     
  12. iamrobjr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #12
    What about for the new macbook pros that have the display port would i just have to get the Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter??
     
  13. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    That would be my guess.
     

Share This Page