Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TimeIndefinite

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 18, 2009
Birmingham, AL
I'm a Broadcast News Editor in a medium sized market (Birmingham, AL). I currently have no system of my own but am looking to purchase a new computer and editing software and need help deciding on what to purchase.

Right now, I am looking at doing solely editing work i.e. I will not be shooting any footage myself. And I shouldn't have to worry about transferring footage or outputting final copies too much because working at a TV station means that I have relatively free access (it still costs my time) to equipment that can convert almost anything into almost anything else. I will not be offering any HD editing at this time.

Some of things that I'm hoping to do with my future system are...

1) Offer to take friends' and family's home movies, transfer them to my future computer, do some light editing and retouching, and package them as DVDs

2) Cut local talents' reels (cinematographers, actors, and of course the TV on air talent that I have connections to)

3) Do light web animation/gfx work for people who are looking for more modern looking websites

4) Do promotional/training videos for local companies i.e. nothing for broadcast just yet

For instance, I've been offered a job to create a promotional video for a church through a work contact, which I haven't agreed to yet (I don't know the details), but I'd like to be in the market for that type of work.

5) I want the ability to expand my business assuming that I get business, so I don't want to spend a lot of money on something that I'll have to sell at a large discount in a year because I need to upgrade my system because of all the editing that I'm doing