Looking to Unlock ATT contract phone for TMobile, do I first activate with ATT? Help!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by SilentLight, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. SilentLight macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to figure out whether I need to first activate my new iphone 4 with the At&T sim that will come with it (its a contract phone my brother is buying for me), or not? To be clear, its a phone he ordered on his AT&T line but he will give to me and continue to use his older phone. I use Tmobile, and am looking to unlock it. I understand the JB and unlock part and what I need to do, I just don't understand which is the best way to activate. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. alpineflip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #2
    Yes you will need a AT&T sim to activate first and then you can jailbreak and unlock from there
     
  3. SilentLight thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #3
    thanks for your reply. does that mean i use the att micro sim to sync it with my itunes when i receive it? or
     
  4. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Myzhi

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #4
    Yes.
     
  5. SilentLight thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #5
    thank you both for your replies! can't wait to try it out tomorrow when the phone arrives.
     

Share This Page