Looking to upgrade my editing system...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by acearchie, Jan 15, 2014.

1. acearchie macrumors 68040

acearchie

Hi guys,

Any advice would be much appreciated!

I have been a freelance filmmaker for about 6 months now and have made some progress shooting music videos.

To save on costs and to get more ambitious with our budgets I have been editing them and I have started to get back into editing.

My current setup is a stock 2009 2.66GHz quad Mac Pro with the only upgrades being an extra HDD and 12GBs of Ram.

It’s looking like I will be editing RED and other similar cameras for the near future so I am wondering where best for my money to go in terms of upgrade.

The obvious option would be a new Mac Pro but in order to facilitate that I would have to sell my current Mac Pro and work a bit harder! Delivery still being 1 or 2 months away would also be an issue.

I would like to entertain the idea of getting a better graphics card than the stock 8800GT in order to get into grading in Resolve as at £600+ a day for a grader I can definitely see a saving to be made there! I have seen the ATI 5770 mentioned in the same sentences as Resolve but I am aware that this card is quite old now. Would there be any worthwhile performance gains?

In terms of real time playback in Premiere I would be happy to get 1/2 resolution at 4k as my display is only 1080p. I believe the current bottleneck are my hard drives so suggestions of a 2 x Raid 0 configuration would be good too.

I don’t have an exact budget in mind but if I can see that it will be a significant help to my current workflow then I can try and justify it as best I can.

Any other tips and suggestions would be great! For instance, am I better off just sucking it up and waiting to upgrade to a new base Mac Pro rather than trying to make the best of my current system?

Cheers.

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe