looks like a virus?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Totole, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. Totole macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I just tried to work with my macbook (leopard installed and it works fine all the time) but all of a sudden I can't get connected to my wireless network and by using network configuration I get the beachball and I can't shut down the macbook then. Also by trying to deactivate bluetooth I get the beachball and that's it.
    Any idea what this could be?
    Fortunately I also have an iMac who works (still) fine.
    thanks
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    No, that does not look like a virus. Is it the same after a restart? Try resetting the PRAM.

    Instructions here
     
  3. Totole thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #3
    Thank you. I did reset the PRAM as described and it looked good for the first 5 secondas - after opening Mail I lost the network connection again and all I got was the beachball. Do you have any other idea?
     
  4. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #4
    You could try resetting the SMC.
    <http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303319>

    And if that doesn't work go to your network settings delete your network and then recreate it. That's done it for me in the past.
     
  5. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #5
    Are you a new switcher to Mac? There are no viruses for the Mac at the moment, and only 1 or 2 trojans (meaning malicious software that tricks you as a user into giving it permission to install). Just because something is working improperly doesn't at all mean, or even suggest, a virus.
     
  6. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #6
    And you could also try deleting:

    com.apple.internetconfig.plist
    com.apple.internetconfigpriv.plist
    com.apple.internetconnect.plist (this one Tiger only, I think)

    from your Home/Library/Preferences folder.

    Restart or log out/in and then re-setup your network.
     

Share This Page