Losing my mind.

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Crxl909, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. Crxl909, Jul 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2017

    Crxl909 macrumors newbie

    Crxl909

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #1
    Model: A1278
    Year: Unknown TBD

    Issue: MBP boots to desktop but has slow performance. So, I loaded a new HDD with El Captain externally because the MBP wouldn't didn't recognize the new HDD internally. Now that the new HDD would boot externally via USB cable, I installed it internally to the MBP and the MBP will still not recognize it. I have already replaced the SATA cable, with no luck.

    Where am I going wrong?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
  3. Crxl909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Crxl909

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #3
    The new cable works on another A1278 is why I'm not suspecting the cable anymore. I did however try the original hard drive and at one point it would boot up from it but now i will not boot from anything that is installed internally. It will only boot externally.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 8, 2017 ---
    I had swapped the RAM, SMC Reset, PRAM Reset and the AHT doesn't suspect anything hardware related either.

    Though I do hear the new HDD spinning.
     
  4. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #4
    Did you try the original cable again? If that now does not work than the issue is with the logic board or the connector on the logic board.
     
  5. Crxl909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Crxl909

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #5
    I did try the original cable again with no success. I've also cleaned the connector on the board.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    Just some thoughts:

    Can you:
    1. Boot up from an external drive
    2. Get to the finder, open Disk Utility
    3. Does DU "see" the presence of an internal drive? Or... no?

    Have you tried a few "resets"?
    I'm thinking of the "SMC reset" that resets all the busses?
     
  7. Crxl909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Crxl909

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #7
    All resets have been done multiple times. I have tried that suggestion of booting from the external and opening DU to see if the internal drive is there with no luck.

    Thank you,
     
  8. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #8
    If you have, as you say, access to another m/c then try your new HDD on that and see if that m/c boots, that will prove the HDD and setup is good.

    If both cables and any drives all don't work on the original m/c then its logic board and/or connector are now defective. Only route from that without getting a new logic board is to buy an adapter for the optical bay and mount the internal drive there. That bay's interface <may> run slower than the internal drive interface would but the drive should still mount and boot.
     

Share This Page