Losing My Wireless Network - everytime!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by liamski, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. liamski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #1
    Hey

    I own an MBP which is - as of yesterday - running Leopard. I have also installed all the updates Apple issued in the last couple of days

    My wireless network is provided by a Netgear router - bog standard 108mbp model

    A few weeks ago - while running Tiger - I started experiencing issues with my wireless connection. Everything had been fine until I tried connecting my MBP to the router via ethernet cable. It didnt seem to work, so I disconnected
    Perhaps this is just a co-incidence, but worth raising.

    Since this point, nearly everytime I close the laptop's lid and then re-open, it 'loses' the connection to my wireless network - no automatic reconnection occurs. It works occasionally, but not often

    To remedy this, I have to go into System Prefs --> Network --> Assist Me --> Diagnostics --> then I look for my closed network (which uses WEP 40/128-bit hex). I am then able to reconnect to the network - the Airport signal guage at the top of the screen activates as normal.

    Since installing Leopard, the issue seems to have gotten 'weirder'. Instead of just failing to connect, OSX now brings up a 'network chooser' box asking me if I want to join one of the networks it has detected. I've tried connecting to my closed network... but then it says 'Connection Timeout'. I'm unsure why I'm able to reconnect via System Prefs, but not via this 'network chooser'

    Hopefully this has made sense. It's certainly a pain in a backside.
    Note that I've checked the router and it works ok with my ethernet wired PCs and my crappy Dell laptop

    Cheers
     
  2. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #2
    That is strange. I know that my friend has started experiencing the same thing on his DLink router. He stopped SSID broadcasting, and then added WPA-PSK encryption to the network. Well, everything was going swimmingly, but then, once he took his laptop out of his apartment, and used it at Panera, it now asks him every time it wakes up or restarts for the network information. This is on Leopard by the way.

    Unmasking the SSID seemed to fix the problem for him. Are you broadcasting the SSID for your router?
     
  3. liamski thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #3
    hey dude

    no, I'm not broadcasting - always been advised not to for security reasons (maybe that's cr*p advice tho!)

    i'll try broadcasting, connecting, closing the lid and then opening again - let's see

    cheers
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Its a Leopard thing, happens to me. It also is a bit weird see the pic below.

    Picture 1.png
     
  5. liamski thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #5
    Still no luck

    Network SSID is now broadcasting, closed lid, opened lid.... 'Network Chooser' appears. I tried to connect to the broadcasting network - let's call it 'Liamski' - but get the "Connection Timeout" message after a few seconds

    I also found an article on the apple site about deleting an old airport file but that didnt work either

    very very annoying!
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Link please.


    I hate the "Connection Timeout" it happens after about 3 seconds, hardly trying. If i give incorrect password details it'll tell me but connection timeout, what is that about.
     
  7. liamski thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #7
    here you go fella.... look for the poster called Pete H

    http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=5661752#5661752
     
  8. CarpetMonster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #8
    It happens to me too since upgrading to Leopard on my SR MBP. Turning the wireless off and on again a few times sorts it out, or in some cases I need to reboot.
     
  9. liamski thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #9

    Yeah, that's a workaround but ultimately we shouldnt need to do this should we?
     
  10. illmaticone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #10
    I have the same problem, in fact i registered to post about it!

    i have a MB, and everything i close the lid and open it back up i dont have access to my network... it IS connected to the AP, but safari says i have no internet connection, i cant access my shared drives.. etc. in tiger this would happen sometimes, but not to this extent. if i disable the AirPort and enable it again to reconnect to my Access Point, i still have limited functionality....

    another example.. lets say im connected and everything is fine, if i manually turn off the Air Port, and reconnect. i will have limited connectivity.

    This is very annoying because i never shut my MB off... i just close the lid.

    another note..

    Broadcasting, WPA2 Personal, Linksys WRT350N and Leopard.
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    I am assuming everybody's updated their router to latest firmware? Older firmware can sometimes be the problem.
     
  12. liamski thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #12

    yes, ran the update yesterday but to no avail :(
     
  13. illmaticone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #13
    yea, my router is somewhat new to the market, and shipped with latest firmware
     
  14. illmaticone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #14
    anyone using the 802.11N enabler? (i am) i am doing a fresh install (AGAIN) today. this is very annoyting
     
  15. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #15
    The enabler doesn't run on Leopard.
     
  16. jeffgtr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #16
    I think this is a MBP on Leopard bug. My son just puchased a new MBP an he's losing his wireless connection often. I imagine Apple will release an Leopard update soon.
     
  17. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #17
    I have an iMac BTW.
     
  18. illmaticone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #18
    maybe thats why?
     
  19. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #19
    Don't think so as it is reporting to be a/b/g/n in network utility.
     
  20. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #20
    Exact same problem with my MB. I close the lid and open it and I cannot get on at all! I have to restart every time.
     
  21. mdntcallr macrumors 65816

    mdntcallr

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #21
    i am having some wireless problems on this as well.

    MY MBP was upgraded to Leopard, and i have had some problems staying connected at times.

    I also have major problems using the Verizon Wireless card, which doesnt work stable as well
     
  22. dap1215 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #22
    I was having sorta the same issue, I would loose connection to my network every day or so.. Normally after I woke my MBP up after sleepy time. I updated my firmware on my Linksys router and all has been fine since on tiger and leapard. Give that a try and see what happens. i know that you dont have a linksys, but give it a shot.. Only takes a min..

    Peace

    Dave
     
  23. liamski thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #23
    hey dave

    i'm using a netgear router and upgraded the firmware last night. Alas, no luck... very annoying

    I'm going to take the plunge and head to the nearest Apple Store using Applecare - wish me luck!
     
  24. CarpetMonster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #24
    I agree completely. It's annoying, and also the no keyboard (and even rarer no mouse) response from waking from deep sleep too.
     
  25. liamski thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #25
    I've had that aswell.. you practically have to chunk the macbook out of the window to get a response
     

Share This Page