Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gaymerraver

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 14, 2016
Essex/London
Hey all.

So last month I had my iPhone mugged from me.
I have a LTE watch that they didn’t notice so didn’t nick (at knifepoint) so placed iPhone in lost mode within 10 mins.
I have a spare iPhone 11 so used that without restoring any backup in the meantime the battery is so terrible after so much use lol.

Fast forward to yesterday I get a new iPhone. Restored iCloud backup, but my years worth of fitness data is gone.

Re-paired my watch, still nothing. iCloud shows as 258kb which isn’t going to be years of data.

Speak to support, give them context they are confused as I am. (I work in IT, so all this is like second nature to me)

Go into Apple Store, explain situation to genius, restored an even further backup. No fitness data. Said he has never seen this before. He escalated it, and escalation team have told me there is nothing they can do.

I’ve had a few iPhones and watches, never lost my data when pairing new devices to each other. I’ve never experienced this before. The most I have ever lost is a days worth.

I don’t know what’s happened, this is data that has seen me from getting diagnosed with ptsd and not being in a good place to work hard and get a £60k job. That data meant a lot to me and was always good to reflect with on my bad days. Yes it’s just data, but the years of how much is what annoys me most.

I’ve submitted a complaint but if their escalation team are telling me there is nothing they can do well let’s just say I’ve already returned my iPhone to the store as there is no way going from this £50 Apple voucher won’t just suddenly make me want an iPhone or watch again. I actually don’t know if I will ever return after this (been using iPhone since 3G model back way back when)

I have an exam next week and this has 100% bought out the IT imposter syndrome.