lost all contacts after update

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by AntDre20, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. AntDre20 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #1
    is there anyway i can get my contacts back help please
     
  2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #2
    Restore from backup.
     
  3. AntDre20 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #3
    when i hit restore button it just asks if i want to backup
     
  4. Skedoozy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #4
    I lost all mine as well, but if you go into favorites or recent calls they are still there. I went to my favorites, clicked arrow to see contact, clicked on edit. Made a change then saved it. Went back to contacts and they were all back.
     
  5. AntDre20 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
  6. Skedoozy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #6
    If nothing shows up in favorites or recent call history then it sounds like they are lost. Did you sync to cloud?
     
  7. AntDre20 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
  8. AntDre20 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
  9. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #9
    same here but they reappeared after about 12 hours.
     
  10. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #10
    If you have a backup on iTunes, you can restore to it by just on your phone going into Settings > General > Reset > Reset all content and settings. Then when it reboots, walk it through, until you get to the restore from iTunes part.

    Again, only do this if you have a backup.

    If you hit restore on iTunes and it asks you to backup, you can say no since your phone doesn't have any data on it now, and after it restores, it should give you the option to restore from one of your backups.
     
  11. aircanman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I think this has something to do with the cloud, have you changed the sync settings for it?

    Same happened to me last night.
     

Share This Page