Lost Boot-up Screen on Mac Pro 5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by spetznatz, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. spetznatz macrumors regular

    spetznatz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #1
    When starting, I get no boot screen... it just stays black until the desktop appears, except for a small progress bar in the bottom left corner (see pic). When I try and boot from the Recovery partition or Install USB, I get nothing... the screen stays black. Card is an nVidia GT120 (Mac edition).

    Now I did try a flashed card in here yesterday, to check 4K support. It gave me the boot screen, but this problem occurred when I replaced it with the GT120. Could this have messed anything up? BootScreen - 1.jpg
     
  2. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2
    This is the boot screen since OS X Yosemite. You see just a quarter of the screen. Normally the progress bar is in the middle of the screen.
     
  3. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
  4. spetznatz thread starter macrumors regular

    spetznatz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #4
    So, Synchro 3... the default behaviour in Yosemite when holding down cmd-R or option on startup is to show a black screen and hide the boot loader / recovery partition? Who knew?

    Thanks, netkas, I'll give it a go...
     
  5. spetznatz, Jun 7, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2015

    spetznatz thread starter macrumors regular

    spetznatz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #5
    No joy... re-set PRAM three times and the SMC controller... will try another video card.

    Also, I'm not getting a start-up chime anymore...

    EDIT: It was the monitor... I got the boot screen on another monitor, so just did a factory reset on the Dell, and all is fine now... except no start-up chime...
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    How did you know you reset the PRAM without boot screens and without hearing chimes?
     
  7. spetznatz thread starter macrumors regular

    spetznatz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #7
    ... Because I heard the double chime for the PRAM reset but got no chimes on subsequent restarts... Sudo nvram -d SystemAudioVolume restored the boot chime.
     

Share This Page