Lost carrier/signal after pwnagetool JB

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by murdercitydevil, May 25, 2011.

  1. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #1
    So I jailbroke 4.3.3 today and everything went without a hitch, except for some reason I am now unable to connect to AT&T. From what I understand this has something to do with the checkbox that says "activate phone" in pwnagetool. I left it at whatever the default was (i think checked) and now my phone is F'ed. Is there any way at all to fix this without having to make a new ipsw and redo this entire thing?

    And for future reference, am I supposed to check that box or leave it unchecked? I am on AT&T, official, no unlock. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. oplix macrumors 65816

    oplix

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #2
    uh no. By default it's hacktivated. Rejailbreak and uncheck the activation in the general settings.
     
  3. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    maybe simple mode is best for you and the box should be left unchecked for the next time.
     
  4. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #4
    I did the same stupid thing.

    According to the Internet instructions they wanted
    you on "Expert Mode."

    So, I jailbroke 4.3.3 using PWNG TOOL and had no
    idea that there was a carrier activation selection.

    Phone now jailbroken but no service.

    I will go and re-jailbreak the phone.

    Question: Do I have to restore the iphone and then
    re-jailbreak or can I just re-jailbreak?
     
  5. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #5
    Pwnage tool's firmware includes the ios and jb in one package. Once you install the custom firmware, no extra JBing is necessary.
     
  6. murdercitydevil thread starter macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #6
    yeah I ended up making a new firmware file. I was under the impression that hacktivation was disabled by default, but my mistake for not double checking. Looks like the only way to undo this is to re-jb with pwnage.
     
  7. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #7
    Why are you using pwnage tool of you are an ATT customer and don't need unlock? Pwnage tool is specifically to keep old baseband for unlocks.

    You could use standard software from apple and use Redsn0w if you do not need to keep an old baseband.
     
  8. murdercitydevil thread starter macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #8
    I don't need an unlock, but I like to keep my baseband unlockable so that down the road it will sell for more. It just so happens that I've never updated it and it remains at 1.59.00. Also I preserve the baseband regardless of what software, I just like pwnage because it works every time without problems.
     
  9. NJRonbo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #9
    Okay...still new at this...at least with PWNAGE TOOL.

    So, I have a jailbroken phone that was done so without
    selecting carrier activation and thus, I have no ATT signal.

    The question was, do I need to do a total restore of the
    iPhone using iTunes and then rejailbreak using PWNAGE TOOL?

    This was the answer....

    Does this mean I simply connect the phone to iTunes,
    press the <ALT> key while pressing RESTORE and locate
    the custom IPSW file that PWNAGE TOOL originally made?

    If that is the case, how do I tell it this time to enable
    carrier activation?
     
  10. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #10
    No need to restore the phone when using pwnage.
    If you're using AT&T, you dont want to check carrier activation; that is for people on non-authorized iPhone carriers like t-mobile.
    You use option+restore in iTunes.

    I really suggest a tutorial from iclarified. They show how to use pwnage and go through it step by step.
     

Share This Page