Lost iPhone, What to do

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by SeaWind12, Jan 3, 2009.

1. SeaWind12 macrumors newbie

I lost my iphone in a club. I was dancing in the middle of the stage as my iphone sliped out of my pocket and some Chinese guy snatched it of the floor and disappeared. Luckily I set my iphone to password auto lock in 15 minutes so all he can see now is a locked screen with a password. I send him an SMS that should pop up on the lock screen saying that I'll give him 50 euro reward and gave him my email.
    So what do i do, what are my options? I've got my Netter's Anatomy on it, I'm studying medicine and my second college term starts on Monday. The only thing I'm thinking is to get an iPhone 3G - at least I will get a better phone. Mine was iPhone first generation. My dad will be very disappointed to find out that it got robbed - i promised to give it to him. Is there any way to find my iphone via location based services that iphone has?
    By the way he switched my iphone off.

2. moneymaster macrumors newbie

He can restore the iPhone to take off the passcode lock.

3. akbc macrumors 6502

You can call your carrier to register your IMEI and they may be able to track it down. It really depends. They should already have IMEI in their database if you got the iPhone directly from your carrier.

Sorry to hear about your loss, good luck :)

4. Xtgirl macrumors regular

AT+T won't do much for you..just disable the sim card...they won't track it for you...I lost mine and really had no choice but to buy a new one.

The thief can just take it to a computer and restore and activate it as a new phone....it totally sucks...

You can keep trying to text the guy but he obviously was a thief so I doubt he will give it back even for a reward.

Sorry:(

5. SeaWind12 thread starter macrumors newbie