Lost my Google Search bar

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trlyka, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. trlyka macrumors 6502a

    trlyka

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #1
    I just did a software update. I can only assume something changed? I don't know what the update included. I tried to go to go to Customize Toolbar, but I couldn't drag/drop the search back next to the address bar. Is there a way to get a separate search bar like I had it before?

    Thanks
     
  2. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #2
    I believe it's been gone since ML. You type in the address bar now.
     
  3. trlyka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    trlyka

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #3
    Don't know what ML is :confused:

    I've had this laptop since last Christmas and I have always had this search option. I can use the address bar, but I kind of liked the smaller bar just for searching.
     
  4. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #4
    Did you upgrade to Mountain Lion (New OS)?

    If yes, then in Safari it is now a omnibox. You can enter google searches or domains or favorites or history.

    In Chrome, it's an omnibox as well.
     
  5. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #5
    Type the same keyword you normally would in the Google search bar except in the Adress bar. It will automatically detect it's not an adress since it doesn't end in ".com" or such and will do a Google search instead.

    I personally love the omnibar and still wonder why Safari for iOS still doesn't have it :confused:.
     
  6. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #6
    Probably contract issues with Bing/Google/Yahoo.
     
  7. trlyka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    trlyka

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #7
    Ohhhh Mountain Lion...Duh

    No, I didn't change my OS, just did whatever updates were available.

    I have...
    Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5

    Safari Version 6.0.2

    By omnibox you mean all in one address and search? Kind of like Windows IE uses.
     
  8. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #8
    Yes, IE has that too now but that trend was originally started by Chrome.

    The change must have done that when you did your updates. This bar used to be exclusive to Safari for Mountain Lion but Safari for Lion (what you use) eventually got it too.
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    You type directly in to the address bar your search terms, instead of directly hitting return, select the search term in the second part that says "Google Search"
     
  10. trlyka thread starter macrumors 6502a

    trlyka

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    #10
    I know this is dumb, but now the bar is too long now. Before it was shorter because I had my Google search bar squished in there to the right. Now, the X and Refresh is at the end of the address bar making me have to go all the way to the right to click on it. Just not as convenient is all. I don't like change :rolleyes:
     
  11. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #11
    Seriously? A search bar is no longer need, I can type "walking dead amazon" into my address bar and it will take me directly to amazon search results. Going to a separate box, typing in your search, going to google, selecting the best site and clicking on it seems to take a lot more time than doing what I described.

    ----------

    I'm not even sure what to say to that.
     
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    Use Escape and Cmd+R, respectively.
     
  13. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #13
    As an alternative load up Chrome.
     
  14. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #14
    Also, you can get BetterTouchTools to create a trackpad gesture for anything. I use a two-finger rotate to the right to do CMD+R, since the gesture reminds me of the reload symbol. I never have to go to the reload button anymore, I just rotate two fingers and bam! Good to go.
     

Share This Page