Lost planet

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by gman901, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    I just bought Lost Planet off of Steam for $5 and it is a lot of fun, but I can't seem to get the graphics to look a little sharper. The game is older, so I am not sure why Fallout 3 and other games look better on my 13" aluminum macbook than this one. Anyone know the right settings to enhance the video quality?
     
  2. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #2
    Are you running it on DX9 or DX10 mode? DX 9 is faster.

    Try reducing the shaders too. The fancy fur and high shaders brought a 8800m GTS to its knees. A poor 9400m would really struggle if the settings are not right.
     
  3. gman901 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    I am running DX9. I may try to lower the resolution more. The first boss battle is practically unplayable. I'll try turning everything to low and see if it works better.
     
  4. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #4
    Were you able to set the resolution to your Macbook's native display size?

    Fallout 3's Gamebryo engine is more up to date than the version of MT Framework Lost Planet is using. Also LP is still using mostly console level visuals which are about 2 - 3 years behind current PCs, where as Fallout 3 is using the latest and greatest and it shows.

    I didn't like the demo of this game on Steam. I'm trying it again just to see if I was in a bad mood, but it's just too arcadish. But for $5, I'm buying it.
     
  5. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #5
    Turning off vysnc and anti-aliasing will make a big difference. These are usually the most demanding. Also bring down anisotropic filtering. You might be able to get buy with everything else turned up. I'm running on a 9600 GT and I get an average of 50 fps on high settings.
     
  6. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    I bought this because of the sale too. I tried the demo a long time ago and wasn't impressed, but it's actually pretty fun.

    If it looks blurry/fuzzy, make sure you run it at your displays native resolution. Actually I've ended up running it at 1280x900 with everything else turned up (4x AA, 16x anisotropic filtering) and it runs smooth - not 60 fps but always above 30. I found that for this game at least, the resolution makes large framerate difference. And since it was designed to run at 720p originally, it doesn't look bad at a non-native res compared to most PC games.
     
  7. gman901 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    Okay, I lowered the resolution down to 900 by 586 (something like that) and turned some settings down. It now plays very smooth and the action and frame rate is very playable. This is a great game and only $5 is a steal! I am glad I picked this one up for my Macbook!:)
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    Same, it's easy to see why it only got 66% on Metacritic :eek:
    But to echo everyone else it's an old game that wasn't fully optimised for PC when ported.
     
  9. Supaklaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    It's very console-y. My 8800GT handles it on both DX9 and DX10, but DX9 looks betters and renders faster. If you like boss battles where it takes you an hour to get in a mech or switch weapons, have at it.

    Agreed, it got a low rating for a reason.
     

Share This Page