Lost Post Help (Quicktime Problems)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Rory Manton, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. Rory Manton macrumors regular

    Rory Manton

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Yeovil Somerset
    #1
    Once again my mac has updated quicktime and once again I can no longer plat quicktime vids. This happened last time an update was made but I managed to fine a post in this forum that directed me to some file somewhere to let me delete a bit of program. I wrote this route down but have lost it because I am stupid. Can anybody help me find the post again or post the route for me.
    Using the search for quicktime just brings up loads of things that are not relevant to my problem.

    Thanks all.


    Machine Name: iMac G5
    Machine Model: PowerMac12,1
    CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    The file you're talking about may be either com.apple.quicktimeplayer.plist or com.apple.quicktime.plugin.preferences.plist, depending on where QuickTime is struggling. The former is relevant to the actual QuickTime application whereas the latter is relevant to the plugin for your browser(s). If neither of these work, then tell us a little more about your problem and we may be able to help. :)
     
  3. Rory Manton thread starter macrumors regular

    Rory Manton

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Yeovil Somerset
    #3
    Thank you for taking time out to reply.

    I have looked for those files following your advice but I can't seam to locate them, could you please tell me where to look.

    The problem is that since the quicktime update no quicktime vids will play . All that appears is the "Q".

    Thanks once again.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Are you talking about when you're browsing the internet or do you mean video files on your computer cannot be played through the QuickTime Player application? Either way, these files should be in your Preferences folder.
     
  5. Rory Manton thread starter macrumors regular

    Rory Manton

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Yeovil Somerset
    #5
    I can't get any vids to play from Youtube if that is of help.
     
  6. Rory Manton thread starter macrumors regular

    Rory Manton

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Yeovil Somerset
    #6
    Just something else I have noticed is that quicktime will run in Safari but not in Firefox! ~

    Does this make sence now or help in any way?

    Thanks
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Okay, this is strange. What OS are you running? If you create a new user account, does QuickTime work normally there? :)
     
  8. bimmzy macrumors regular

    bimmzy

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I know this problem, and its to do with FLASH 9 not Quicktime.

    i have solved the problem, but off hand cannot remeber how to resolve it as i'm not sitting infront of a mac right now.

    i will investigate and get back to you soon.

    NB: its not your mac that has the problem its Adobe who have ported this version of that app really badly. :mad:
     
  9. Rory Manton thread starter macrumors regular

    Rory Manton

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Yeovil Somerset
    #9
    I am currently running OS X 10.4.10.

    Thank you again for taking time out to help me I have a hate hate relationship with computers.

    Bimmzy , I look forward to your next post.
     
  10. Rory Manton thread starter macrumors regular

    Rory Manton

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Yeovil Somerset
    #10
    Anybody please HELP.

    iMac G5, PowerMac12,1, PowerPC G5 (3.0),Firefox 2.0.0.9, OSX10.4.11


    And no quicktime after the recent update of quicktime player.

    Getting hacked of with this poxy pile of crap .

    Please anybody.

    Thanks
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    We need more feedback, mate. Does QuickTime work in other user accounts?
     

Share This Page