LotRO on a X3100 MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by virduk, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. virduk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #1
    So, I'm thinking of buying a current penryn x3100 MacBook and one thing that would be cool would be to play LotRO on the go as well as at home on my PC.

    How badly does this run?
     
  2. virduk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #2
    Surely someone has tried Lord of the Rings Online on a MacBook.
     
  3. philippott macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #3
    Hi!

    I ran the game in 1280x800 on the previus macbook (Intel 950) with reduced graphics options. However, I only played some characters until level 20, so I dont know how later gaming in bigger dungeons works out. Some months have passed since playing LotRO and so I dont remember details, but I also dont recall ever thinking "omg this is bad/unplayable". My unliking of LotRO then developed during playing due to the characteristics of the game, but not because of the macbook's or the game's performance.

    I also play WoW on this macbook and get 15-20fps usually, and about 5-10fps in large fights in MH / BT (and still use some raid-needed addons).

    So I think the newer X3100 macbooks will do even better. Although I wouldnt recommend a macbook for gaming it has sufficient resources to play these games.

    Regards
     
  4. virduk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #4
    Oh. I'd only want it for a few lower end games. I have a mid range gaming PC for proper gaming. So it probably wouldn't be that common, but it would be nice to play the occasional game and then I'm more likely to play a MMO or strategy game than anything else. Will Civ or GalCiv II run on this kind of hardware?

    Its certainly not worth all that extra expense (of a Macbook Pro) just to play a few more games on the go. Especially given the 8600m is pretty weak for modern and upcoming games.
     
  5. Thal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #5
    Macbook pro

    I am trying to run LOTRO on a recently bought Macbook Pro on Vista through boot camp. I get a Game error message 122. has anyone else had this problem. On other forums people seem to be running it with little problem.

    Thanks
     
  6. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #6
    If 8600GT is weak, then how would you classify GMAX3100 :confused: Its like 5 times slower
     
  7. jonnysods macrumors 601

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #7
    My friend ran LOTRO on the intel GMA950 with graphics down and it rain 'fairly' well - I reckon that it would be a lot better with the new motherboard graphics.

    Put it on man - it's sweet having it on a portable in case you are bored somewhere and need to do some quests!
     
  8. luffytubby macrumors 6502a

    luffytubby

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #8
    More like 20 times slower.


    Integrated... It's so dumb.
     

Share This Page