Lots of questions about choosing a laptop.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jg216, Jun 15, 2012.

1. jg216 macrumors newbie

ATTN Computer Science Students

I am so torn on which laptop to buy for college.

I am studying computer science, and I don't want to go there (Binghamton) and look silly with a laptop that can barely do what I need it to do. To be quite honest I don't even know what it is I am going to have to do. How important is the power of my personal computer in a computer science major?

Well, here we go (my budget can be worked to satisfy all of my needs)

13" macbook air- great design, awesome for the actual college experience, but is it powerful enough for a computer heavy curriculum?

15" retina macbook pro- don't get me wrong, this machine is amazing, but the 15 inches is too big for me. but do a lot of computer science students have 15" laptops?

13" macbook pro- ideally the perfect laptop, powerful affordable. However, the screen resolution is just awful, and i do enjoy app development. The laptop here is perfect for my needs, i am just hesitant because of the outdated resolution, its the same as my 2007 macbook.

So my questions to computer science students are these
    Are all of these sufficient for my needs?
    Would i be one of the only ones with a huge 15" laptop?
    Can i look past the 1280x800 resolution?

and what the heck are all of these rumors about a retina 13" macbook pro, because that is absolutely the perfect laptop it is everything I wish for, shape, power, resolution. But will it be out in august? before i have to go away

Thanks in advance to everyone with the patience to help me out here.

2. ebolamonkey3 macrumors regular

ebolamonkey3

Well, this is several years ago, but I remember in college (I went to GA Tech) a lot of CS students had 15" laptops, so I think you'll be ok.

If you want to wait for a retina update for the 13" MBP, that's your call. Rumor says October, but that may be too late for your schedule.