Lots of RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by forester54, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. forester54 macrumors member

    forester54

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Location:
    Washington
    #1
    Do you guys think there is a big difference I would notice by adding more RAM to my machine.

    I use Photoshop, FCP, VMware (windows 7 and XP) and all the basic apps (itunes firefox etc)

    Havent done much gaming but want to now that I have my MP

    would I notice a difference by adding 2 or 4 more GB in my 2 empty slots?
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  3. forester54 thread starter macrumors member

    forester54

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Location:
    Washington
    #3
    the most ive gotten up to is 5 or 5.5GB but if I play games in windows through VMware im wondering if that is going to suck RAM like crazy
     
  4. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #4
    If you have any page outs in Activity Monitor, then it is time for a RAM upgrade.
     
  5. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #5
    Yeah this is the best way to tell. The more page outs you get the bigger the speed boost you will get.

    I know I plan on buying another 4 gb soon. Am I ever glad I got a Mac Pro. I was told by everyone here not too because I don't use pro apps. I am at 7gb of ram and I still run out.
     
  6. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #6
    as noted, look for page outs.

    Virtual machines lock up a lot of ram.

    I routinely was getting large amounts of page outs until I hit 12GB ram personally, but I leave parallels running almost constantly and have photoshop and lightroom and multiple other programs running almost constantly as well.
     
  7. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #7
    Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought that's it's ok and expected to have some Page outs, but they should be less than 10% of your number of page ins.

    I've been up for 16d and have:

    Page Ins: 5.3mil
    Page Outs: 31,582

    Nothing to worry, right?
     
  8. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Its time for a RAM upgrade.
     
  9. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #9
    I have 16GB of RAM and I still get page outs.

    I remember someone else on MR that said he had 32GB of RAM and still gets page outs. OSX LOVES RAM!!
     
  10. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Says the guy with 1GB :rolleyes:

    I have 12GB of RAM, have been up for 32 days and have:

    Page outs: 696.00 KB

    I bet I need a RAM upgrade too...
     
  11. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #11

    No, those are about right. I mean one can never have too much RAM of course but for 8 to 12 GB of ram that's very expected and I doubt seriously having 16GB would reduce the in/out ratio much - if at all.

    I've been up for about 7 days now. I have 12GB RAM and my ratio is very similar:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #12
    vm size: 139.85 gb (huh?)
    page ins: 2.86 gb
    page outs: 776.3 mb
    swap used 1.98 gb

    page ins: 749,992
    page out: 198,732

    lately (since i installed snow leopard) i never see less than 120 mb free and around 1.4 gb active.
    leopard likes ram, snow leopard loves ram and has an addiction.
    ya i have only 2gb ddr2, and it is only a mbp not a beast of a machine you guys are running.
     
  13. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Haha, I only have 64 KB of page outs.
     
  14. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #14
    I have page outs everyday with 32GB's of RAM.

    A lot of the software I use needs to be updated to better use the hardware I have.
     
  15. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    Figures, Safari doesn't really push the machine much.
     
  16. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #16
    Well, I think it has more to do with "up-time" and of course usage. Page-outs and page-ins accumulate over time. If it's 64,000 page-outs in an uptime of 2 or 3 weeks that's phenomenal. If that's 24 hours then that's about right - again also depending on usage.
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    Isn't this always the case though? ;) :p
     
  18. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #18
    Its more the ration of page in to page outs. That way to accounts for uptime.
     
  19. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #19
    I have 9GB of ram in my G5 and 2.9million page-outs and 4.3million page-ins after 6 days up time.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #20
    So can we say the following is an axiom:

    Assuming several days uptime and normal use, Page Outs should be no more than 10% of the number of Page Ins.

    Sound like a good philosophy?

    BTW I presently have 6mil Page Ins and 51,478 Page Outs and I'm at 18d uptime.
     
  21. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #21
    Wow dude - is adding more memory a viable option? That's the worst ratio I've seen - and it's not like you've been stingy on RAM! Is G5 architecture less efficient or something? That's crazy.
     
  22. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #22
    ...that really doesn't sound like something is working properly...:eek:
     
  23. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  24. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #24
    So you really only have 3 GB of system RAM? (after the RAM Drive I mean)
     
  25. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #25
    so to go back to the ratio of page outs to in, i have about a forth of my page outs to my page ins. is this high or...
     

Share This Page