Loud Hard Drive?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by madisonfaye, Aug 14, 2011.

1. madisonfaye macrumors regular

madisonfaye

Hey guys :)

I've been wanting to replace my 750GB 5400RPM stock HD with a SSD. Its just consistently really noisy even when the computer is not doing anything.

My question is, am I just being a baby? Do you guys notice constant whirring and clicking from your HDDs? Should I just stick it out and get used to it? I like the idea of having a large hard drive, but I'm not tech savvy enough to do the optibay thing.

So pretty much I guess I'm asking, do those of you with the standard hard drives notice constant noise?

2. res1233 macrumors 65816

res1233

I don't. It sounds like your drive may have issues if it's really that audible. Every hard drive makes some noise, but it's usually hard to hear nowadays.

3. madisonfaye, Aug 14, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2011

madisonfaye thread starter macrumors regular

madisonfaye

I wish I could record its sound accurately. I don't want to be that person that complains over noise that most people would consider standard! I wish I had another to compare it to, unfortunately I'm leaving to move to a place where there are no Apple Stores within a 5 hour trip :(

Edit: Also, anyone that knows about SSDs, can this one work in my MPB

http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0364780

I think I will opt for them to install it there if I do make the switch

4. gakuran hitori macrumors regular

gakuran hitori

It's difficult to say... how loud is it? My hard drive is slightly audible; I can hear it spin and click every now and then if I listen real close and the room is quiet. It's normal of any drive to hear it a little. Also, the higher the capacity usually the louder the drive is. 1TB~1.5TB laptop drives are pretty noisy.

Yeah that will fit.

5. madisonfaye thread starter macrumors regular

madisonfaye