Louis Rossman - Hilarious Technical Commentary w Teeth

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by RumorConsumer, Dec 10, 2016.

1. RumorConsumer macrumors member

RumorConsumer

This dude is hilarious. As a former repair technician myself I found his commentary to be mostly spot on, funny, and informative. Enjoy!

2. Zirel Suspended

Zirel

He doesn't make "technical commentary"

He doesn't know what he's talking about, he's a repairman, not an engineer.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

While I do find some of his criticisms to be spot on, I think he has an axe to grind against apple. His reballing video he's saying Apple put in a timer to cause the Macs to fail because apple care is coming to an end. I stopped listening to that video after that comment. While I agree with him, that reballing is not repair, I couldn't stand his rhetoric.

4. RumorConsumer thread starter macrumors member

RumorConsumer

Yes I agree that one was over the line. And as a tech who sees hundreds of machines his views aren't totally without basis. 2007/2008 MacBook pros died w their graphics issues around then as did the 2011 machines. But yes, that is conspiracy theory.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 11, 2016 ---
    He's a user and a repair man yes, and he's consumer oriented which to me makes him fun to listen to.

5. Zirel Suspended

Zirel

Must be for you.

For me, he's a jackass that thinks and convinces people he's better than what he actually is.

Also, a liar, and that's what his audience likes to hear. Tim Cook must have stole his lunch.

6. lowendlinux Contributor

lowendlinux

7. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

There's no doubt that the Apple has had some significant issues with 2007 -> 2011 MBPs regarding the GPU and 2012 -> 2014 (or later?) with the coating wearing off on the display panel (staingate as some call it).

Like I said, I think some of his criticisms are accurate but I still think he does have an axe to grind against apple.