Resolved Loving the iPad/iPhone combo, but have a question

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ardchoille50, Nov 20, 2016.

1. ardchoille50 macrumors 68020

i currently have an iPhone 6s and an iPad Pro 9.7 and have been successful in replacing my desktop machines with this iOS combo. I'm happy enough that I can now sell my Mac mini without consequence. One question, though. The chargers are different for the iPhone and iPad Pro devices. Is it possible to use only one charger for both devices? Can I charge the iPhone 6s AND the iPad Pro 9.7 with just the iPad charger? I'm not an expert in battery tech or the needs of each device, so I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing before possibly damaging one of my devices. Would it damage the iPad Pro to charge it from the iPhone charger, or vice versa?

2. Hal~9000 macrumors 68000

Hal~9000

Yes.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202105

3. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

M. Gustave

Someone will chime in that I'm stupid and wrong, but the only times my iPhones have gotten warm while charging is when using the iPad charger. And guess what my 5s eventually failed from at 1.5 years old? Battery expansion.

So you can use the iPhone charger on any device, no problem there other than the iPad will take hours to charge. But I would only use an iPad charger on an iPad.

4. ardchoille50 thread starter macrumors 68020

Well, I wouldn't call anyone stupid, but the information in the link that @Hal~9000 posted does seem to conflict with your the experience. The reason that your iPhone got warm when charging from the iPad charger is apparently due to the difference in wattage between the chargers. Being that Apple designs and manufactures these devices, I'm more inclined to trust the information given by them. I will, however, keep a close eye on my devices.. any experience that runs contrary to the manufacturer's statements is not without merit.

5. Abazigal macrumors 604

Abazigal