low-budget photoshop alike WITH pen tool

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Kristalghost, Jan 30, 2010.

1. Kristalghost macrumors member

Hi I'm a student and I'm looking for a affordable/free drawing/photo-editing tool for mac.
    I tried photoshop and it worked whell after a couple of tutorials but I can't afford to buy it for the little I use it for.
    Now I'm looking for a replacement in sorts of pixelmator (with the basic photoshop filters, etc...) but I also need a pen tool (also know as bezier tool or consorts) for drawing basic shapes to fill.
    In my spare time I also like to redraw manga and use the pen tool for this.

Of what i found so far the programs have either the photoshop filters etc or the pen/bezier tool and basic coloring.
    I haven't found any apps that have both except photoshop.
    Price may run up to 60-70$ as I've noticed that the payed graphics apps are allot beter than the free ones (pixelmator is perfect except it doesn't have the pen tool).

And yes I've already looked at the mroogle for other posts of photoshop alternatives but as of yet I haven't found any apps that have both.

2. kasakka macrumors 68000

You'll have a hard time finding one. Most programs are either raster or vector, Photoshop is one of the few that incorporates vector tools (though they function much worse than Illustrator's..yet another example of Adobe's incompetence).

I suggest you instead look into going totally vector. You can usually import bitmap graphics (like a scanned drawing) into them. I have no idea what to recommend though. Lineform should be avoided because the developers seem to have no intention of supporting or improving it. Vector Designer might be worth a try, but the last time I tried it, it totally failed when working with complex images (performance became abysmal). Inscape is free and has lots of features, but its user interface is pretty "engineerish" aka not good at all.

3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus