Low Cost Wifi For PPC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dronecatcher, Feb 20, 2015.

  1. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #1
    Just wanted to make everyone aware of these cheap USB wireless dongles, as if you're like me, getting USB wireless adaptors is either expensive or hit and miss. This is a Europe only auction but I'm sure they have similar in the States:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/130754121067?_trksid=p2060778.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    The drivers it comes with don't work for PPC - however, after some detective work, I found drivers for PPC Tiger onwards here:

    http://www.edimax.com/en/support_detail.php?pd_id=347&pl1_id=24&pl2_id=84

    Also for reference, under a few live linux distros I've tried they're plug and play.
     
  2. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #2
    Eh, Ralink. I had nothing but trouble with those. Fine for Windows, Linux and the Raspberry Pi but dropouts galore on OSX.
     
  3. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #3

    In the past, their wireless utilities have been atrocious but this latest update is more professional. Drop outs or not £3.75 is more bearable than the last "Mac OS X Compatible" USB dongle I bought for £29.95 :)
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I highly recommend the Netgear WNA1000M adapter as it is small, wireless N, and nice looking!
     
  5. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #5
    Four times as expensive though :eek: (in UK that is)
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Really! Over here they are about $15-$20 but well worth the money in my opinion.
     
  7. vlark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #7
    Can you do internet sharing with one of these? My original airport card bit the dust and I used to use Airport to share an ethernet connection with other computers in my house (we've got DSL; I'm too cheap to spring for whole-house wireless until Google Fiber comes to my neighborhood later this year [I'm on the Kansas side of Kansas City]).
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    You can use Internet Sharing with any network device in OS X to my knowledge.
     
  9. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #9
    It really wasn't. It could not hold a connection for a minute and you had to pull out the dongle to reset. I would rather cough up the £30 quite frankly.
     
  10. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #10
    Ooh google fiber you would really like that! Free internet, or 1000Mbit/s for $70/mo! That's 125 Mbyte/s, faster than a hard drive! Imagine booting your computer... from the cloud!
    Haha when fiber optic goes everywhere then the data centers would probably be overloaded hehe until optical computing becomes reality. :D
     
  11. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #11
    That's understandable - I myself haven't had any problems with them.
     
  12. vlark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #12
    I've never been able to get it to work with a Tenda W311U and the Ralink drivers it uses. Sharing from the Internet port to the "ethernet" port created by the Ralink driver never works.

    ----------

    It's already here in some neighborhoods, but my city (Overland Park, KS) dicked around trying to negotiate with Google and when Google threatened to walk away (and it did in neighboring la-te-da Leawood), the bigwigs at all the Fortune 500 company offices in town threw a hissy fit and the city council finally approved the deal to give Google utility leeway access and allow them to string new fiber on utility poles.

    I should be able to sign up for it by summer.
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13
    I always went from one of the third party wireless adapters to the built in Ethernet port without issues. I am sure some exceptions apply.
     
  14. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #14
    Maybe this is the problem. You share from the physical ethernet port in your computer not from some phantom port that the software creates.
     
  15. vlark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #15
    No, no. I'm sharing FROM the physical port TO the dongle -- the dongle software creates a port named "Ethernet 2" or some such.

    I've never been able to share from an Ethernet port to a dongle, no matter which dongle or driver I try.

    I used to use internet sharing via Airport all the time, but then the card went bad (the system can recognize the card, but the card can't recognize any networks, if it's right next to a router or another Mac that is sharing it's internet connection).

    Sorry -- I didn't mean to hijack the thread.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    You can go from third party wireless adapter to built in Ethernet or built in Ethernet to AirPort. Unless a third party adapter has native support (viewed as AirPort) then it will not work.
     
  17. InuNacho, Feb 21, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2015

    InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #17
    If you have an older android device or can get one for pretty cheap, you can run EasyTether on it and hook it up to your Mac over USB. Connect the Android device to your wifi network and it runs as a wireless card. There's a free trial on the Play Store to see if it works for you.
    I use it and it works pretty well, every week or so the app needs to close or the phone is messing up, but it works.

    http://www.mobile-stream.com/easytether/android.html

    EDIT: Also works with older Blackberries running 4+.
     
  18. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #18
    I never have a problem with Ralink. My Linksys WMP54G Wireless PCI card uses the RT61 chip and worked flawlessly on OS X.

    The Long-Range USB Wifi antenna I use for my main source of Internet is a Ralink RT2870 chip. Although Ralink HAS no PPC compatible drivers on their site i did hunt down RT2870 driver that DOES work on PPC 10.3 and up and it works flawlessly.
     
  19. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #19
    I use a NETIS WF2120 USB Wireless N for my Mac. It has a Realtek chip but works with OS X 10.4-10.10
     
  20. vlark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #20
    Well, there's my problem, then.

    I fixed it all this weekend anyway. I was a local Savers (a chain thriftstore) that had a Netgear WNR2000v3 wireless router for $7. On impulse, I bought it. I connected it between my DSL Router and my iMac, updated the router to the latest firmware, and now I have a whole-house wireless access (albeit in a dinky DSL modem for now). The iMac with the flaky Airport card is still on Ethernet, but now my daughter's iPad and my computers in the basement can connect to the wireless router rather than have to do internet sharing via Airport.

    Man, it's 2015 and I just updated to 2009-era tech!

    ----------

    I found solid drivers here:

    http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads/

    Mediatek bough Ralink at some point in the past few years.
     
  21. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #21
    and so you use eary 2000s tech in the mid 2010s LOL

    i know mediatek is what ive been on for drivers
     

Share This Page