Low resolution at login screen

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Joshoon, Sep 8, 2014.

  1. Joshoon macrumors regular

    Joshoon

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hi,

    I am having a small issue with my login screen.
    When I start my Macbook Pro Retina with Yosemite DP7, the login screen has a low resolution.

    When I go to the login screen just to lock my mac, the resolution is perfectly fine.

    I've had this issue in all the DP versions, except for DP6, but in DP6 it wasn't showing my profile picture.


    Is anyone else having this issue as well? Or does anyone has a solution for this?


    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. abn0rma1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    #2
    I have experienced this as well with DP7 (didn't have it with DP6 or PB1/PB2). It's a strange issue for sure, but as with you, it loads correctly after logging in.
     
  3. Joshoon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshoon

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    Indeed.
    I have sent in a bug report with the feedback assistant.
    Let's hope they will fix it :)
     
  4. abn0rma1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    #4
    Just commenting to see if anyone else is experiencing this, as it's still an issue for me on DP rcGM3.

    I've narrowed it down to only happening when I have an external monitor connected (mine is via HDMI). After logging in, resolution corrects itself.

    Really annoying as it definitely didn't happen with Mavericks.

    I might get a TB-HDMI adapter to try it that way however.
     
  5. throttlemeister macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    I had the same issue. A NVRAM reset fixed the issue (OPT+CMD+P+R when powering up)
     
  6. abn0rma1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    #6
    I'll give it a try - thanks
     
  7. Joshoon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshoon

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    Same here! Also started to occur after using an external monitor.


    I tried that very often.
    Unfortunately it doesn't make any sense.
     
  8. throttlemeister macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Location:
    Netherlands
  9. abn0rma1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    #9
    Yea I tried resetting it and it didn't resolve the issue for me either. It still persists.
     
  10. sixkiller macrumors member

    sixkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Location:
    New York
  11. Joshoon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshoon

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #11
  12. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #12
    I am in this boat and resetting PRAM solves nothing.
     
  13. abn0rma1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    #13
    Yep this is still happening after doing clean install with full release.
     
  14. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #14

Share This Page