Lower end Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bloodycape, Apr 14, 2007.

  1. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Anyone think that since intel now has the Core 2 Duo Quad in both standard and Extreme configs out on the market that there maybe a lower end mac pro? Maybe a Mac Pro that cost 1550 and comes with the same features as current base Mac Pro but with the Core 2 Duo Quad chip then another one for 1700 but with the Core 2 Duo Quad Extreme chip? Just an observation. I think Apple should take full advantage of what Intel has to offer and at least give us something with an Extreme chip in it.
     
  2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #2
    It sounds to me like you are fascinated by the word "extreme", rather than actually looking at the hard data behind what is being used in the current Macs, because the current Clovertowns used in the Mac Pros are far better than the Core 2 Quads. I think those would require a completely different chipset, am I wrong? It sound like to me like you want a midrange tower. And just for the record, you will never get a computer with a high-end CPU, especially like the Core 2 Quad, for $1500.
     
  3. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #3
    Actually - one could spec a PC box using the new Q6600 for under $1500 BUT - the Q6600 wouldn't work on the Xeon based platform of the Mac Pro. Strangely, Apple don't make a machine based on the Core2Duo desktop components. The Mini, MB, MBP and iMac all use mobile parts, and the MP uses the server parts. There is no Apple platform for the desktop quad core component to drop into - for a quad core Mac pro..get the two x dual core machine.

    Doug
     
  4. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #4
    It'd be nice to see something that didn't use those god-awful expensive FB-DIMMs that are actually slower than regular DDR2.
     
  5. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #5
    I second that. Why does Apple use them? Hopefully we will see them move to DDR2 in the next revision, or at least the prices will drop by then.
     
  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Because they have no option. The Xeon CPUs require it. So there only option is to stop using the Xeon which i don't think is a feasible option.
     
  7. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #7
    Intel does offer Xeon alternatives. Intel's Socket 775 dual-core Xeons currently includes: Xeon 3040 Conroe @ 1.86GHz, Xeon 3070 Conroe @ 2.66GHz, Xeon 3060 Conroe @ 2.4GHz, etc.

    But, Apple has yet to offer a Socket 775 based system.
     
  8. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #8
    Xeon == Clovertown, Xeon != Conroe. Xeon is the server / workstation model, not the consumer desktop (Conroe) model.
     
  9. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #9
    Errr.. you're confused. The Xeon's I cited are not "consumer desktop models."

    See: Intel Xeon Processor 3000 series
     
  10. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #10
    So for a upgrade to the mac pro you want them to replace the current CPUs with something older just to allow you to use a different type of RAM. This way we get faster RAM and slower CPUs, plus the cost of a motherboard redesign. I don't see your logic.
     
  11. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #11

    The Xeons you cited are just repackaged versions of the same 'consumer desktop models' AKA Conroe.

    The big thing is the chipset and RAM change.
     
  12. Macmadant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #12
    yeah your right, aren't they just the name they give to the server C2Ds, to make them seem different
     
  13. bloodycape thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Yes I am looking for a machine that is a step lower than the Mac Pro that comes in a tower form and with a chip like the Core 2 Duo Quad. Would be perfect home pc for me.
     

Share This Page