LP8 on the new mini?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by OldCorpse, Mar 4, 2009.

  1. OldCorpse macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #1
    Anybody have an opinion about using the new mini with logic studio? It does have FW800 and 5 USB, and one could hook it up to a decent size monitor... change the HDD to a 7200rpm and max out the RAM... audio in/out... seems like it could work, no?
     
  2. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #2
    I was going to ask that same question.

    I think it would work for most users.

    I don't know about Mainstage though.
     
  3. CalumC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    Easy peasy. I know someone who does large projects using a 2nd gen mac mini in pro tools, you'll have no trouble.
     
  4. Big Boss Man macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #4
    It will most definitely work fine if you upgrade the HD and max out RAM. Any system is going to eventually reach its limits depending on the track count, plug ins, and virtual instruments. Unless you are doing some really huge projects an upgraded Mini should be fine.
     
  5. OldCorpse thread starter macrumors 65816

    OldCorpse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Location:
    compost heap
    #5
    Thanks, I figured as much. Frankly, I'm pretty happy with the mini update, I think it's a pretty good machine for what it is (maybe a touch overpriced). The iMac update was much worse, IMHO :)

    The other thing is, with all the "core" services, how is the new mini fixed to take on Snow Leopard... anything missing? I can see how perhaps the integrated graphics might be an issue, but how do you see it?
     

Share This Page