LR 5.6 problem with plugins

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MCAsan, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    There is evidently a problem with LR 5.6 handling of plugins. Plugins that worked fine on previous version now do not appear when you right click an image and select "Edit in". And some of the plugins are no longer appearing in the Plugin Manager.
     
  2. Alexander.Of.Oz macrumors 68030

    Alexander.Of.Oz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Try reinstalling them, I had to go through that task a while back now. I have no issues with 5.6 and any of my plug-ins or extensions for it.

    I have however had to wait for all the vendors of my plug-ins and extensions for Photoshop to update their wares after the recent upgrade to CC2014, but it was worth it for the new abilities of Photoshop! Sorry for going OT, there's been some touchy folks regarding not following the rules around these parts of late... :rolleyes:
     
  3. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    I tried reinstalling. No install errors and uniform bad plugin handling. Never had such problem on previous upgrades. The uniform behavior tells me the problem is LR 5.6.
     
  4. Alexander.Of.Oz macrumors 68030

    Alexander.Of.Oz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    I also had to delete my preferences lists for Lightroom first, then reinstall everything. Did you do that? I noticed a move of the plug-ins location at the time I re-did mine. Take a look at your permissions, that's the only other thing I have heard of giving folks this sort of grief that you are experiencing.

    You have shut down and re-started the computer also?

    I am confused as to why I am not experiencing what you are experiencing with v5.6? :confused:
     
  5. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    I stumbled over the problem and "solution".

    In LR if you got to Preferences, there are several tabs. One of the tabs is Presets. Near the middle of that window is an option to save your Presets in the same location as your catalog. I had turned that on. Who would have guess that option would cause plugins to not show up when you right click an image?

    I turned that option off and I can still see my Presets and once again, if I right click the image both my Nik Collection and Perfect Photo Suite modules all show up as plugins.

    Obviously the option for the Preset location must create a path that is used for more than just finding Presets.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Alexander.Of.Oz macrumors 68030

    Alexander.Of.Oz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    I'm so glad you found your solution! I un-ticked and deactivated that box ages ago, when I started storing my catalogue on an external, well a series of external hard-drives. I think it was on a Kelby or a Lynda video tutorial that it was mentioned, as I had just made the switch to Lightroom and wanted to see what was recommended for setting it up easily and so that one could take their catalogue and work on any machine with Lightroom installed on it.

    I have a pretty crap memory for details like that, sorry, using the program is what I file away and use regularly in regard of memory recall... :eek:
     
  7. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    BTW, I was on Yosemite beta for a few days. It totally screwed up LR's ability to invoke plugins. Avoid the beta. I had to restore to Mavericks.
     

Share This Page