LR plugins don't work

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by MCAsan, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    Lightroom plugins do not work properly.

    I am returning to Mavericks!
     
  2. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #2
    Blame either Adobe or the plug-in manufacturer - they need to update their software or plugins to be compliant with the OS.

    We cannot do anything about somebody else’s software.
     
  3. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    The comment from the plugin vendors is that Yosemite is too much of a moving target. I decided to get out of the no mans land between Yosemite, LR, and the plugins. It all works on Mavericks.
     
  4. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #4
    That’s why you aren’t supposed to use it for production or day to day use as a primary OS. Not even Apple recommends this. Most same software devs won’t update their software until Yosemite is released.

    Beta OS are for testing and bug reporting. When third party software does not work that is not really news of any kind and should be reported to the software vendor where it should be no surprise that they generally won’t update until release. Nothing with that is either new nor unexpected.

    ----------

    That’s why you aren’t supposed to use it for production or day to day use as a primary OS. Not even Apple recommends this. Most sane software devs won’t update their software until Yosemite is released.

    Beta OS are for testing and bug reporting. When third party software does not work that is not really news of any kind and should be reported to the software vendor where it should be no surprise that they generally won’t update until release. Nothing with that is either new nor unexpected.

    If you want to report that a specific program doesn’t work, you should mention it in one of the active threads, otherwise what is the point of complaining in a dedicated thread?
     
  5. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #5
    If the plugin devs are good at updating their plugins, I'm sure they'll work on an update closer to the GM/public release stage when Yosemite isn't changing so rapidly.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    They're right, most developers hold off on releasing updates on their products until apple releases the GM.

    What plugins were failing, NIK?
     
  7. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7

    Both the Nik Collection and Perfect Photo Suite. I did not try Helicon Focus.

    The tech support at both companies are aware of the problem being Yosemite underlying services. They will not try to release any correction on their side for what is essentially an OS fault. I reported the problem to Adobe but never got a response. That is not surprising.

    So my point is if you want/need to produce edited photos using LR plus plugins, the Yosemite beta might not be worth trying.

    The problem with LR and the plugins was the last of many trouble reports I filed. I did not want to any new images to have to wait until the Yosemite launch to be processed. So I restored to Mavericks yesterday without problem. As a retiree I have no "production" machines and do not depend on my Mac for revenue. I never said that was the case. That is why I could and did take the risk of running the beta for many days.

    I used to test real time telecom software. I fully understand how software is carefully allowed to progress from prototype, to alpha, to beta, to First Office Application (FOA), to general release states. I will not be in a rush to go back to Yosemite until I hear that LR plus the plugins are all working properly.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I agree completely, the developer preview is for developers, working on their apps. The public beta is for folks who want to "play" with the OS. Its been apple's intention that this should not be considered for your day to day usage or any mission critical needs.
     

Share This Page